Meal Planning Monday

It’s that time again…grocery shopping, meal planning and prepping. What are you making this week?

Here’s what we have going this week:

Monday: ground turkey lettuce wraps

Tuesday: shredded pork tacos with black beans and rice. This is a seriously easy recipe. Take a frozen or thawed pork loin and dump it in your crockpot with a jar of your favorite salsa verde (green salsa). Let it cook on high for 6-8 hours or until it’s falling apart. Load a tortilla with pork, beans, queso fresco, salsa, avacado and a squeeze of lime and you have a heavenly dinner that literally took all of ten minutes!

Wednesday: baked parmesean chicken and pesto fettucini with a green salad

Thursday: Meatloaf, roasted baby red potatoes and sauted green beans. I use this recipe for my meatloaf and it’s awesome. Sometimes I’ll also shred a bit of zucchini or finely dice broccoli and mix it in and you would never know.

Friday: take out

Saturday: flank steak, spinach salad, bread and toasted coconut cake (homemade!) My parents will be in town and we’ll be celebrating my mom’s birthday. I’d like to try a new marinade or spice rub for the steak. Any suggestions?

Sunday: barbecued hamburgers, sweet potato fries and green salad. Whenever I hit a Trader Joes, I load up on their frozen sweet potato fries. They are so good with a sprinkle of Johnny’s and garlic salt.

The weather is supposed to get warm here by the end of the week and I have about a dozen pink and purple tulips blooming in my yard. I think it’s safe to say winter is behind us.

I’ve intentionally held off buying any plants for my vegetable garden until I knew it wouldn’t freeze, and I think this week might just be the week to do it. Now I just need to finalize what I’m going to plant. So far I know I’m going to do Roma tomatoes, one zucchini, green and red peppers, romaine lettuce, basil, rosemary and chives.

I have this vision of a pantry lined with mason jars of homeade marinara sauce, applesauce, canned peaches and pears and homeade jams. I’m such a suzy homeaker at heart, so we’ll see if I can get my act together and actually make it happen this summer. Yakima might not be the epicenter for culture and activity but it is an incredible place for fresh, organic, locally grown produce. Yum!

4 Responses to “Meal Planning Monday”


  1. 1 cate April 13, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    my tuesday dinner is going to be the same…funny huh!

  2. 2 Kami April 13, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Can I come to your house for dinner? That sounds wonderful! When I get home it is all I can do to throw something together…and I love to cook. I just don’t have the energy, and I never have the forethought to plan ahead. I’ll have to start taking notes here 🙂 Thanks for the ideas!

  3. 3 Kristin Zech April 14, 2009 at 3:53 am

    Andrea, I think you and Cate are on to something… those pork tacos sound awesome! I made something similar once, but it wasn’t as simple as using the crock pot and a jar of salsa. I think I’ll have to try it soon, maybe this week even!

    On the same subject, great job with the meal planning Andrea! You are so inspirational 🙂 I need to do a better job of planning out meals a week ahead. I think having a kid necessitates this, right? I guess I’ll see come this September!

  4. 4 Carlee April 14, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    i really appreciate your use of the word “dump” in reference to the crock pot. … cause that’s how it feels. what a beautiful, beautiful invention. so the trader joes sweet potatoe fries are good? i’ve tried them from scratch and they’re always just a mushy mess. i need some help from ol’ tj. ox


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


