A Letter

april-2009-0151Dear Son,

You, my sweet baby boy, are on the edge of becoming a mobile baby which means this precious season of life where your dad and I are everything to you, where you need only us, is coming to an end.

Already you play independently on your blanket talking and singing to your toys, laughing at the dog when he walks by. You eat your food easily and often making for less nursing and more sleeping. You need me less. And it is thrilling and bittersweet in the same breath.

I look at you in awe. That somehow God would bless your dad and I with the greatness that you are. I think to myself everyday…how did we get so lucky? How did we get so blessed?

I love you.

I love your happy smile, your inquisitive and sometimes serious nature. I love that you light up for your dad and I (and of course Rem). Your easygoing nature is a blessing to us everyday and makes the random crying jag or fussy moment nearly heartbreaking. You have an independence about you that is going to be so fun to see develop. You have an inherent sweetness about you that fills my heart to bursting capacity.

Our mornings are still a sacred time for me. It’s my chance to get my snuggles and kisses in before the day starts…before I have to share you with the world. And as much as I love to watch you interact with everyone you come in contact with, I selfishly want you all to myself.

You started ‘talking’ to us last week, babbling away all day long. Wherever I am in the house I can hear your little voice. And it’s music to my ears. I know someday I’ll ask you to be quiet but that day is far far away. Today, I want you to tell me all your stories. 

Last night after I put you to bed, I stayed an extra minute watching you peacefully sleep. Your little chest rising and falling with rhythmic breaths and I couldn’t help but pick you back up and rock just a little longer.

My sweet son, thank you for being just who you are.

You are a blessing, an answered prayer, a miracle.

4 Responses to “A Letter”


  1. 1 Kami April 16, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    This is a beautiful post, and so, so true, from one mama to another. How do the days keep slipping by, faster and faster, and they learn more and more everyday, and become a little more independent (meaning less and less DEpendent) each and every moment. Cherish every single breath of time you have with your beautiful boy.

  2. 2 Jessika April 17, 2009 at 3:17 am

    Such a beautiful note to your boy. You are such a great mom and it is so great how much you love Jackson- motherhood is truely a blessing!

  3. 3 itsybitsymama April 20, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    This is so touching, and makes me cherish my sweet baby all the more.

  4. 4 Carlee April 22, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    this warmed my heart to read. thanks for sharing your heart andrea!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


