Meal Planning Monday — A Day Late

Help!

I’m blanking on meals for this week.

I’ll be honest, we haven’t exactly stayed perfectly on track the last couple of weeks; last minute get together with friends or work commitments have caused a few shifts in meals.

Last night we had fantastic barbecued salmon, roasted baby red potatoes, green beans and sourdough bread. The Swansons brought over a fantastic dessert which we enjoyed on the patio last night. This weather is fabulous!

I developed a new trick for my potatoes. Unless you are lucky enough to be fancy with a convection oven, roasting potatos can take forever and a day. So, last night I cubed and boiled my potatoes until they were just barely fork tender. I dumped them on my cookie sheet with olive oil, Johnny’s seasoning, garlic salt, cracked black pepper and a dash of red pepper flakes and threw them into a 425 degree oven for about ten minutes. I gave them a quick flip and turned the oven to broil for another 5-7minutes, turning them halfway through for even browning. They were delicious!

Anyway, back to meal planning. Here’s what I’ve got:

Tuesday: steak sandwiches

Wednesday: barbecued chicken, baked potatoes and green beans

Thursday: terryaki chicken kebabs (peppers, onion, pineapple and chicken) and rice pilaf

Friday: everything but the kitchen sink salad (turkey, ham, hard boiled egg, veggies, feta or blue cheese and anything else I can find in my fridge)

Saturday: Date night!

Somewhere in there I need to make Aaron’s birthday cake. He hits the big 2-7 on Sunday. He has requested chocolate cake with chocolate frosting. I can do that!

What are you making this week? I need some ideas…

3 Responses to “Meal Planning Monday — A Day Late”


  1. 1 _joey_ April 21, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    This blog’s where its happenning. Keep up the good work.

  2. 2 Jessika April 22, 2009 at 2:21 am

    We are planning on BBQ whenever/whatever we can when we eat together this week- Kyle finally picked up a new weber so he is eager to get it broken in. I did make lasagna Sunday night and it was SO easy and delicious! I just got the recipe from the back of the easy lasagna noodle package (not sure of the brand but it started with an ‘r’ and was blue) and it only took like a half hour to make! You can also find some recipes on recipezaar.com

  3. 3 mrred April 22, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


