Hell Froze Over

From the day my child was born, he has refused a binky. And when I say refused, I really mean; woe is him, the world is over, duck and hide because the wrath of his fury leaves no one standing in it’s wake. The kid doesn’t joke around.

But today, something changed:

april-2009

Yes, I know he’s not supposed to sleep with any blankets, but he cried huge alligator tears when I tried to take it away. He came down with a cold yesterday, so anything goes. I left his door open so I can periodically check to make sure he’s not suffocating on the blanket. Anyway…

I gave him the binky this morning as a last ditch effort to entertain him. He didn’t want any of his toys, didn’t want to be held or left alone. So, I offered the binky, thinking he’d chew on it and keep him occupied for a few minutes. Instead, he inspected it for a few minutes, then popped it in his mouth and went to town. I put him to bed over an hour ago and he’s had that thing in his mouth the whole time.

Just when you think you have things figured out…

6 Responses to “Hell Froze Over”


  1. 1 Mary April 24, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    He’s about to bond with that thing for the rest of his baby life and then cry alligator tears when you take it away, for good, someday. But hey, it is worth it. I loved my pacifier with only the love a little girl could give an inanimate object.

    I hope you are enjoying these precious days with your little baby boy. And from the evidence of your blogs, you truly are seeing each day as a blessing.

    XOXO

  2. 2 Jessika April 24, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    WAHOOO!! Your life just got easier!….and you thought that was impossible as a new mom! šŸ™‚

  3. 3 cate April 26, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    yeah for binkies! Thank you God!

  4. 4 Jessi April 26, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    So so sweet! My neighbor had to “ship” their daughter’s binky off too the babies in the hospital because big girls don’t need binkys anymore. They wrote a note and wrapped it up as a present. She never asked for it again, that was the only way they could ween her off of it. I hope you have just as great of a story to tell!

  5. 6 Libby April 26, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    Pacifiers are the BEST! Going to bed is suddenly easier, long car trips more bearable…

    We’re two for two in the paci department – let’s hope baby number three agrees to take one as well. I’m not sure what I’ll do if he doesn’t…


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


