Missing Egg

 Libby and I made Smitten Kitchen’s blueberry crumb bars this morning for a party she’s hosting tonight. She’d already made two other desserts in preparation and as we zested lemons and measured flour we laughed that she had misread some directions the night before and had to remake part of one of the desserts. (I should have taken this conversation as foreshadowing!)

I’ve made the blueberry bars a couple of times before and not only are they delicious; but they’re very simple.

Well…I forgot to add the egg to the crust mix. (It calls for one egg). And, of course,  it wasn’t until after the bars were out of the oven that weLibby realized something was missing. Being the detail orientated person that she is, she remembered the lone egg where I blew right by it.

So, I ran to the store for more blueberries and Libby made round two (with the egg).

After I put Jack down for a nap this afternoon, I was eyeing the Costco package of strawberries on my counter and realized I needed to do something with them ASAP, or they were going to be in the garbage.

June 027

I know! I’ll make the same bars, except with strawberries. So, I get out my flour and sugar and start putting it together. Except…I didn’t have any eggs.

So, I made them without an egg…again.

My flakiness is even beginning to shock me…

Anyway, they were a lovely treat to celebrate a long and stressful week. Good news as of tonight — the loans close on schedule next week and we will be moving next weekend.

Tonight, we are celebrating like this:

June 023

The wine is open, the husband is handsome and the sun is setting.

Happy weekend.

3 Responses to “Missing Egg”


  1. 1 colleen cosgrove June 15, 2009 at 2:21 am

    You make me smile, laugh and cry,,all at the same time. I love your blog Andrea..

  2. 2 cate June 15, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    I can’t believe you are moving…I’ll miss that house, but can’t wait to see how/what the mccoys will do to this new house! I hope you don’t have a stressful week!


  1. 1 The recap « Blessings and Glory Trackback on June 15, 2009 at 8:59 pm

Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


