Rachel Ray Isn’t My Favorite Except When She Is

                    Rigatoni with chicken sausage, roasted tomatoes,                        fresh basil and Parmesan

  • Box of rigatoni
  • 4 sun-dried tomato chicken sausages
  • Grape tomatos, halved and roasted
  • 1/4 cup (or more) chopped fresh basil
  • 2 big handfuls of Parmesan cheese
  • 2 cloves smashed garlic
  • 2 tablespoons butter or olive oil

This was seriously the easiest yummiest dinner I’ve made in a long time. A couple of weeks ago I caught a Rachel Ray segment where she was roasting little grape tomatoes. I don’t remember what dish she was actually making, but as I was perusing the produce section at the grocery store last night trying to figure out what to make for dinner, the roasted tomatoes suddenly came to me, and I decided I would try it.

I’ll be honest, Rachel Ray usually annoys me (Who says EVOO?) and generally speaking her food doesn’t look all that good to me, but these tomatos looked awesome. And I’m not a huge tomato person, so I was taking a bit of a risk.

Anyway, I got home, halved the tomatoes and drizzled them with olive oil, kosher salt and cracked black pepper. I put them on a baking sheet and in a 350 degree oven for about 25 minutes.

When the pasta was cooked, I added the tomatoes, grilled sausages, garlic, butter and Parmesan. I tossed it all together and at the last second stirred in the basil.

Make this tonight. It was so good and easy. I think a yummy substitute would be fresh mozzarella instead of Parmesan. I wish I had picture from last night, but we devoured it before I could snap a picture. (of course). Here’s one of the leftovers.

andrea 008

1 Response to “Rachel Ray Isn’t My Favorite Except When She Is”


  1. 1 cate July 10, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    EVOO, drives me crazy too. Whenever I have to by oil I cring when I she her bottle of oil as “Rachel Ray’s EVOO”. aaahhh


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


