Sleep or Lack of

I hate to even type out these words, but my kid isn’t sleeping through the night again. We had several months of good sleep and then a couple of weeks ago he randomly started waking up again. Thinking it was just a fluke, I would stumble into his room, pick him up, settle into the rocker, nurse for a few minutes and put him back to bed. Ten minutes max and everyone was back to sleep.

Except, now a month has gone by and instead of a fluke, it’s every night. And just like that, 3am is the new wake-up-call. And, I am so done with getting up in the middle of the night. People…I am tired. Jackson is 10-months-old this weekend, he eats three meals a day, takes two naps, weighs 25 pounds and has no reason to be waking up. There are 2-year-olds that don’t weigh as much as he does!

So please, give me your advice. What can I do to help him sleep through the night?

Here’s what we’ve tried:

We let him cry for an hour last night going in every 15 minutes to briefly comfort him, but ultimately, I was so frustrated I gave in just to get some sleep. I will be honest, at 4am, I am not the best decision maker. Tonight, instead of nursing him to sleep, I gave him a bath, nursed him and then Aaron took over by reading him a few stories and snuggling in the rocker. He cried for a bit when he went into his crib but fell asleep quickly and we haven’t heard from him since.

What else can I try with this stubborn boy?

7 Responses to “Sleep or Lack of”


  1. 1 Kami August 18, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    I see in your last post you mention he’s teething, which was my very first thought as I read this post.
    My daughter went through a LONG stretch (sorry!) where she was up at 4am E.V.E.R.Y. night wanting a bottle, and it was all because she was teething. The teething is what woke her up, but she refused to go back to sleep without a bottle.
    I can’t help you much, though, because I just gave in. I would give her about 4 oz of formula, just enough to soothe her, then put her back to bed. Every night. For months. Since you’re nursing, I don’t know if you can just make it a quicky thing.
    She did out grow it eventually!! I’d say around 11-12 months.
    Good Luck!!!

  2. 2 Fine For Now August 18, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    I totally don’t have a baby yet, so please write me off if you so desire 🙂

    But, I have been reading sleeping books and basically they say it just takes time. The one hour of crying one night, will lessen and lessen each night as the baby comes to realize this is the new norm. They say definitely go in and comfort, but don’t pick him up. It will take a few days, but in the end it will be worth it 🙂

    I’m sure it is very hard to listen to that precious baby cry, so good luck!!!

  3. 3 cate August 18, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    Calm down girlfriend!!! It takes time. Most books say your baby is good if they sleep through the night at 2 years. He’s still a baby. And i’m with this whole teething thing…it will be months before all his teeth break through and it’s not painful for him. There were times that I was giving tylonal every night for a week at a time.

  4. 4 Jenny M. August 18, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    Just pray for lots of patience and extra energy and know it’s only for a season. Livi was never a good sleeper as you know! But now she does great. I know how tiring it is but enjoy the late night snuggles, they won’t last forever…this too shall pass my friend!

  5. 5 Kitty August 19, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    My baby is younger than yours, but my brother’s advice when I asked about this same type of pattern was – let them cry. I know it’s hard to listen to (I was up for an hour last night soothing my little J back to sleep), but once I realized that he can (and should) sleep through the night, I stopped feeding him when he woke up randomly. Every time I started nursing him just a little, he started waking up at 2, or 3, or 4. The times that I’ve let him cry, he goes back to sleeping through the night.

  6. 6 Courtney August 19, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    Do not feed or nurse him in the middle of the night when he wakes up. It may have become a habit, but do not let him expect that if he cries he will be nursed back to sleep. As you said, he’s a big boy and it’s not as if weight is an issue or something. If you keep doing that it’ll become expected, if it hasn’t already.

    If Ian wakes up, I go in and I try not to talk but pick him up and hold him sometimes rocking him, too. I was told by a friend who read that if you don’t talk at night during times like this they understand that it’s sleep time, not play time or awake time.

    Crying it out is hard. I would call my pedi if you’ve tried your own method and it’s not getting better. If Jack has slept through the night before it can happen again, so don’t fret. I understand that kids may not sleep through the night until they’re older, but Jack’s done it; he just needs to get reacquainted with the routine…

    Good luck! We are having some big time separate anxiety and it’s right when we put Ian down to sleep that he hollers. It’s hard not to comfort him or give him a drink of something. If he does have one, it’s water. If Jack is teething, consider Tylenol or a home remedy. But do steer clear of nursing–it will not get better if you keep feeding him to comfort him when he wakes. That’s just my two cents. Keep us posted!

  7. 7 Victoria September 6, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    If it makes you feel any better, my daughter is exactly the same age as your son, but she’s been waking up 6-8 times a night. Since June. So obviously I have no advice to give! But just remember, it could be worse. I’d LOVE to wake up just once a night with her…


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


