Anniversary a Little Early

I got 10 hours of perfect uninterrupted sleep in a comfy hotel bed over the weekend and I have no pictures to prove the bags under my eyes are gone.

We celebrated our anniversary a few days early by heading to Spokane and dropping the baby off with the grandparents (Aaron’s parent’s) and booking a night at The Davenport Hotel.

I’ll be honest, I was a little nervous. Not because I didn’t think Jack would be in great hands, but with all the sleep issues we’ve been dealing with on top of the fact that he came down with a cold last week, I was worried he would be a beast. (Okay, fine, maybe I was a little worried I would miss him terribly).

As with almost everything in life, our worries are usually for nothing. Jack had a blast with his grandparents. They even introduced him to one of Spokane’s finest eating establishment, Dicks, where he proceeded to eat nearly an entire hamburger. His cold didn’t seem to bother him to much and other than a 4:30am wake up call, he slept through the bulk of the night and I think grandme and grandpa were secretly happy to have a few extra snuggles.

Aaron and I enjoyed tooling around downtown, eating one of the best meals we’ve had in a long time at Wild Sage and stuffing ourselves with some pretty incredible dessert. We enjoyed several meals that didn’t include shoving a spoon of sweet potato’s in someones cry hole, nobody smashed banana in their hair and a bath wasn’t required post meal (although that was an option).

More importantly, while it was a very quick 24 hours, it was a necessary and invaluable bit of time for us to reconnect, relax and just be ‘us’ for a little while. Aaron and Andrea versus Mom and Dad…we talked (not just about our kid…who knew!), we napped, we held hands; it was divine.

And of course, we didn’t snap a single picture, but you get the idea. It was great. For us, and for Jack.

1 Response to “Anniversary a Little Early”


  1. 1 Dave McCoy August 24, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Yes it was wonderful for Megan and me as well and that early morning stuff, well who can sleep. When Jack fell asleep in my arms Sunday morning it brought back so many memories of my children and all the times I slept in the old brown chair with then in my arms. Yes even at 5 in the morning it was heaven. Thanks for letting Megan and I keep him.

    Love you,
    Dave


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


