A No Good Very Bad Day

Do you remember that book? I think the kid’s name was Alexander and he had two older brothers and he had to go to the dentist…I should look on Amazon and see if I can find it for Jack.

I had my own no good very bad day yesterday. It started with oversleeping and progressed quickly to getting a speeding ticket on my way to work. No, the kid was not in the car with me but two words: School Zone. That doubled the fine and I about had a heart attack when I saw what I owed. Thankfully, the husband has had a couple of his own speeding tickets since we’ve been together, so he couldn’t be too mad! In the 12 years  I’ve been driving I’ve only gotten one other speeding ticket, ironically also in a school zone. I think I might need to start taking those flashing yellow lights a little more seriously.

On top of all that, Jack is cutting that fourth tooth so he’s drooly and clingy and chewing on everything, including his crib slats. As in, he is ruining his beautiful crib that I lovingly bought with the intention of having multiple children sleep in it. At the rate he’s going, I’m going to get him up from a nap one day and there’s going to be a mattress on the floor with a pile of wood shavings.

September 182Why are you looking at me? I wasn’t chewing on anything or screaming or being generally destructive. I’m perfect.

I don’t know if this is a phase or if his little personality is developing but he has an independent streak that might just border on stubbornness. He refuses to let me feed him with a spoon, screams bloody murder when I take something away from him, shakes his head no at us and when he sets his mind to something like opening the refrigerator or playing with the broom, nothing is going to deter him. (Why is it that babies only want to play with things they can’t have all the while ignoring the 100 toys strewn all around them?)

Right now, 90 percent of what he does or gets into really is pretty cute and funny but I can see the day just around the corner when we actually have to start disciplining him and to be honest, I’m a little nervous.

Although, I have to admit, this one little curl completly redeems any ‘bad’ behavior. Aaron thinks he needs a trim but I’m holding out as long as possible. It’s just too cute.

September 175

2 Responses to “A No Good Very Bad Day”


  1. 1 Ivy September 17, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    You have such a clean floor! I’m going to have to kick my housekeeping skills up a notch when my baby comes… 🙂

  2. 2 cate September 18, 2009 at 12:38 am

    yep…alexander and the no good very bad day (official title) i loved that book! He learned it all from Claire…she does everything you mentioned. I may just cut and past your writting on my blog but put in my own pictures! How’s that!!!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


