Big But Little

Big but little. If you went to college with me than you know this inside joke well.

Now it’s true. Jack is big but little. A year ago I was pacing around my house manically assuming every twinge and ache was the imminent start to labor.

Fast forward one year later on a cloudy overcast fall day, my almost 1-year-old makes laps around the kitchen island scooting a wayward laundry basket while I made gallons of chili, scrubed my floors and frosted chocolate cupcakes.

As Aaron’s cousin put it so well, ‘you don’t celebrate your kid turning one, you celebrate surviving the first year.’

And let me tell you; we celebrated.

I think the rain prevented everyone’s usual weekend activities, so our house was packed with family and friends; eating, drinking, playing with kiddos and even decorating a few pumpkins. I’m glad I made that extra pot of chili…we ended up needing it. And even better, the rain didn’t seem to dampen anyone’s spirits. (Pun intended).

So, for the wonderful family and friends who helped make Saturday so special, thank you. Jack won’t remember that day, but Aaron and I will and we can’t tell you much we appreciate all the kind words, investment in our son’s life and your presence as we celebrated ‘surviving!’

Pictures to come…I’m blogging slightly illegally from my work computer. Also, don’t be surprised if all this week is sappy posts about my boy. It kills me that it’s been a year already.

0 Responses to “Big But Little”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


