Hamthrax!

And…it wasn’t food poisoning. It’s the flu. Or hamthrax (as Sundry so perfectly put it).

Aaron went down this morning. I put Jack to bed tonight with a 101 degree fever. We are a den of sick and germs and yuckiness.

Hummmppphhh.

Thankfully, for me at least, it was truly a 24 hour bug. I bounced right back today and spent a good portion of it cleaning, making soup, delivering Gatorade and trying to entertain a cranky baby.

I’m holding out hope that Jack’s fever might have to do with him getting the H1N1 vaccine today. Yep, me the mother who has freaked out over every single vaccine my child has received, slowed the vaccine schedule down significantly and spun myself in circles trying to make a decision about H1N1; today was the day.

I decided against the seasonal flu vaccine but we did H1N1 because ultimately I decided the risks of infection outweighed the risks of the vaccine.

So, I’m curious, what did you decide?  If you or your kids are eligible did you get the vaccine or do you plan to?

Amongst my circle of friends, it’s nearly 50/50 in who’s doing it and who’s not.

3 Responses to “Hamthrax!”


  1. 1 Courtney November 10, 2009 at 6:15 am

    Ian got the seasonal vac. I would have gotten the H1N1 so long as it was thimerosal-free, but he is allergic to eggs so he can’t get it now until they can give a small dose to him and look for a reaction and we don’t know when that will be…

    Did you get the vaccine? I got both.

  2. 2 cate November 10, 2009 at 10:31 am

    The kuhlmanns are opting out of all flu and h1n1 vaccines. I hate them, but am also scared of them! I hate having to make these decisions.

  3. 3 Fine For Now November 11, 2009 at 11:09 am

    I got the H1N1 last week, after saying I was not going to get it the whole pregnancy, but my doctor really made me comfortable with getting it. Still need to get the seasonal flu shot too.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


