Do You Eggnog?

We had a heated discussion around the dinner table tonight debating the merits of eggnog.

Aaron loves it poured into a tall glass. He’ll drink it with a splash of alcohol, in a ‘punch,’ with a cookie or all by itself.

Personally, I drink a small amount during the holiday season but I prefer my eggnog as a splash in my coffee or cut with milk in a latte. I do love it, but it’s pretty rich.

Our friend’s were united in their disgust of the thick yellow nog.

So, that makes me wonder, what is your favorite holiday treat? What do you look forward to all year?

I love an eggnog latte from Starbucks and my grandmother always used to make nanaimo bars at Christmas, that although I’ve tried, have never been able to recreate just right. Also, my dad makes incredible cinnamon rolls that is a recipe from my mother’s side of the family. One of my favorite childhood memories is sitting on the counter watching him roll out the dough. I always begged him to let me sprinkle on the brown sugar and raisins and being the good dad that he was, he always let me. Just thinking about those rolls takes me right back.

 Apparently, I have a few favorites!

4 Responses to “Do You Eggnog?”


  1. 1 cate November 16, 2009 at 9:20 am

    Do I eggnog….NO I hate it actually! But for holiday treats I love making orange cranberry bread with my mom every thanksgiving morning. Also the Kimballs are very good about munchies for lunch on thanksgiving and christmas!

  2. 2 Kitty November 16, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    Not to get all nosy…but I am curious; do you think about baby #2 anytime soon, if at all? What are your thoughts on sibling spacing? With my 7-month old I’m still too close to the birth/newborn phase to even consider getting pregnant for a long time, but I’ve heard people say that and then right after baby #1 turns 1, everything changes.

  3. 3 Kitty November 16, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    p.s. I don’t eggnog. Yuck. And I am NOT a picky eater. Maybe it’s the name…nog. Blech.

  4. 4 diana November 18, 2009 at 9:15 am

    Well to stick up Eggnog I am a yes. For me it marks the beginning of the season. When I was a kid I drank it by the glass all the time but now I enjoy just a little bit in my coffee or with a treat. As far as treats go I LOVE seven layer cookies. Easy to make and easy to eat. We are also a big fan of homemade caramel corn and fudge. I love baking at christmas!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


