Holiday Cheer

So, I would love to show you pictures of my new house all decked out for Christmas. Or maybe a shot of my precious child in his new Christmas jammies (let’s be honest, we have about 5 pairs of holiday jammies to rotate through). I mean, I could even post a photo from Thanksgiving or of the little half bathroom we are almost finished renovating.

But…

In order to do so, my camera battery would have to ‘work.’  As in, not dead.

So instead, I thought we could talk about Christmas cookies. How does that sound?

Growing up my mom made amazing sugar cookies, cut out into trees, stars and geese. She made the frosting herself and carefully iced each one and then let my brothers and I decorate them with sprinkles (basically ruining her beautiful creations as we dumped sprinkles all over her hard work, but she was a good sport). Over the years, she has made a variety of other cookies and treats, but those have always been the constant. Cookie swap? Sugar cookies all the way. Last minute gift for a friend? Sugar Cookies.

I’ve decided that I need a trademark holiday treat. I’ve been scouring magazines and cookbooks, blogs and recipe sites, but nothing has really hit me. In the last couple of years I’ve made a really yummy chocolate shortbread cookie, hello dolly bars, pecan bars, my mom’s sugar cookies and some amazing lemon sandwich cookies that I found on the Martha Stewart web site. I would stick with the lemon cookies because they are divine, but lemon just doesn’t say Christmas to me.

So tell me, what are your holiday treat traditions? Do you have something you make every year? Any suggestions for what I should make? (hint hint)

2 Responses to “Holiday Cheer”


  1. 1 Ivy December 3, 2009 at 9:50 am

    I love Christmas cookies as much as the next girl, but I want photos of your house! Go, camera battery, go!

  2. 2 Jessika December 3, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    3 words…russian tea cakes! They are cookies and are truely my favorites! My grandma made them for us when we were little for Christmas and now I make them too- they are super easy! They are like a almond shortbread ball covered in powdered sugar. There are a ton of variations- our favorite site to check out recipes is recipezaar.com


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


