Procrastinating

It’s the truth. I am a bit of a procrastinator ( ‘a bit’ meaning ‘huge’).

I am staring at a dishwasher that needs unloading and a high chair that needs scrubbing. Let’s not mention the 700 piles of clean laundry that need to be put away or the bed that just never quite got made today.

I have an inbox FULL of emails and three (!) new freelance projects to work on. Just as clarification, I work as a consultant for a medical school very part-time helping with university relations and fundraising. That’s my constant gig. When I mention freelance projects, its writing/marketing/fundraising for one of our local hospitals. I love the work I get asked to do, because it’s interesting and challenging and it helps that they pay pretty well too. So, I pretty much never turn them down, even if it is a week and a half before Christmas and I am BUSY.

Instead of tackling one of the hundred things that would make me feel better and more productive. I think I will write this nonsense here and listen to my son fight his nap in his crib. As a segway, what is up with 1-year-olds? He took a great nap at daycare this morning and when we got home around 12:30pm this afternoon, we played and had a snack just like every day I go to work. At around 2pm, I layed Jack down for his nap where he proceeded to yell, blow raspberries and talk for an hour. At which point, I got him up, played some more and then as he got fussier and fussier, layed him down again around 4pm (half and hour ago). He’s still awake.

And, as is my life, it’s five hours later. Jack never did take a nap. But I did unload the dishwasher and make dinner. So, that’s something. The laundry will have to wait until tomorrow.

Also: it’s snowing! A lot. At our old house, our neighbor always used his snowblower to clear our driveway for us, so Aaron never had a reason to shovel. Most people would mourn losing that neighbor, but not my husband. He is giddy at the thought of getting up early to shovel his driveway. Too bad he has to ‘sweep’ away the snow with a broom. Maybe tomorrow I’ll buy him a shovel.

It’s the little things.

Hopefully, tomorrow a post a that makes sense.

0 Responses to “Procrastinating”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


