Celebration

When we bought our new house in June, the idea was to eventually be able to comfortably host our families for birthdays and holidays. With both of our families living out-of-town, we wanted a home that could accomodate guests.

This weekend, we got to try our hand at hosting our first ‘holiday.’ Although, it wasn’t technically Christmas, you never would have known it on Saturday morning when Santa arrived in abundance. We hosted Aaron’s family this weekend which included three of his four siblings, two of which brought significant others, as well as his parents. If you are doing the math, that was 7 additional people in our house.

We had a blast. Seriously.

We played Wii, stayed up way to late (okay, maybe I threw in the towel and headed to bed way earlier than everyone else, but it was still late for me!), played a ridiculous amount of Catch Phrase and ate lots of great food. All in all, I think most importantly it was just wonderful to have 36 hours of uninterrupted time to hang out, reconnect and relax. 

The girls all got ‘Farm Chicks in the Kitchen’ cookbooks and personalized aprons. (You can count on me posting many a recipes from this awesome book.)

Jack seems to be going through withdrawals today. With no one to play with him except me, he’s been a sad boy. I don’t wrestle as well as Uncle Cory or Grandpa. I don’t chase him as well as Aunt Michelle or Auntie Bre. Grandme gives the best hugs and kisses and no one plays legos as good as Grandpa.

For the rest of this week, I am going to post passages, songs and verses that speak to me about Christmas. Now, more than ever before, I am compelled to take a step back, find some quiet in my soul and be thankful. This has become more poignant in my life, I think, now that I am a mother. I don’t want to lose the message of Christmas, because more than anything, I want to pass it on. To my children, to my family, to my neighbors, to my community.

Join me and if you feel so led, post your own thoughts and inspiration either on your blog or in the comments here. I look forward to sharing.

1 Response to “Celebration”


  1. 1 Grandme December 22, 2009 at 8:01 am

    It was a wonderful 36 hours of special family time. I couldn’t have asked for a better Christmas celebration! Perhaps a new family holiday tradition?


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


