Bathrooms

This is the half bathroom just off our kitchen. I always call it a quarter bath because it is SO small, but then Aaron reminds me that a quarter bathroom would just be a toilet or a sink and that doesn’t make any sense…

So…here are some pictures of our half bath:

(notice the paint brush still in the sink…touch ups, I swear they go on for eternity)

The tile is the same as our kitchen and the new wainscoting covers some pale yellow tile. Yuck. The blue paint is all Aaron and while it wasn’t originally my favorite color, it looks great with the white. My husband gets all the credit.

Now let’s take a tour of the other bathrooms shall we?

Main floor bathroom a.k.a. ‘kids’ bathroom:

Until Saturday, this bathroom had white floral eighties wallpaper on the walls. Thankfully, the paper came down in big sheets with minimal effort. How much for you love those oak vanities and plastic trim? My thought is to paint the vanity black, the walls a very pale grey and have Aaron install some greyish tile on the floor. Get some fun hooks and a new faucet in brushed nickel and I think it will be ‘updated’ enough for the next couple years. I forgot to take a picture but the tub has a white tile surround that although looks dated is in good shape and very clean, so I think we are going to save ourselves the headache and leave it for now.

And on to the master bathroom:

Doesn’t Aaron look like he’s having fun? The second picture I had to post because I wanted a visual for our ‘working conditions.’ We turned the shower on as hot as it would go as well as the heater. Then, we soaked the wallpaper and let it sit for about 15 minutes. Then we started scraping. Needless to say, the duck wallpaper has given us hell. But, slowly, with a lot of determination, we are winning this war. It’s about 80 percent peeled and one more afternoon with the scraper and we should be done. I have to insert how thankful I am for my husband. After doing one of our bedrooms and the other bathroom, I was DREADING having to deal with our bathroom. Wallpaper is straight from the devil. But, Aaron was a trooper and kept me laughing even when I thought for sure I was melting from the moisture and heat. We got a ton accomplished working together and it kind of reminded me of the ‘old days,’ when we did our old house.

Anyway, that was our weekend…how was yours?

7 Responses to “Bathrooms”


  1. 1 ivyrae21 January 26, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Nice work on the bathrooms! Makes me thankful we only had to do one… 🙂 (although sometimes having a 2nd toilet wouldn’t be so bad either, wink wink) Your quarter bath looks like a lovely place to pee.

  2. 2 Scott January 26, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    That’s a very baggy T-Shirt Aaron is wearing…is he feeling ok?

  3. 3 itsybitsymama January 27, 2010 at 7:30 am

    I love your half bath! We are going to do our full and only full bath over before baby–we just don’t know where to start :-/

  4. 4 Jessi January 27, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Love them all! Nice work!

  5. 5 Jessika January 27, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    TINY LITTLE BABY BUMP SPOTTED!!!! YAY!! Am I obsevant or what?!

  6. 6 Jessika January 27, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    ps- I really like that blue!

  7. 7 cate January 27, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    well you guys sure do know how to make a pretty bathroom! Can’t wait till you get your hands on your bathroom! And i’m glad that your getting things done…now if I had that modivation, it would be very helpful!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


