Sick

(more naked pictures, I can’t resist)

I can’t tell you how much I hate it when Jack gets sick.

Wednesday night Jack came down with his first case of croup. It was mild at first but ramped up over the next 24 hours. After some scary coughing bouts and wheezing, we headed to the doctor for our first ‘sick’ visit. (There have been several ‘firsts’ over the last few days.) After two doses of medicine, the croup seemed to be on the decline and we all breathed a sigh of relief that our boy had dodged a bullet.

Except, yesterday Jack just wasn’t himself. He was feverish, fussy, and wouldn’t let Aaron or I put him down. He wouldn’t eat or play. He went to bed at 5:30pm. After a long night, we woke up today hopeful our boy would be back to his happy self, but we were sadly disappointed.

This afternoon I was at my breaking point. Jack had never been sick like this for this many days. I was so worried he had come down with influenza or something worse, that I was making myself crazy. We called our wonderful doc and he promptly told us to swing by his house. (I love that!) After a quick look in his ears, we thankfully had a diagnosis. Ear infection and a bad one. Another first.

So, we’ve got ear drops and antibiotics and a mom and dad who are crossing their fingers and hoping for a decent nights sleep. Thankfully, my mom is here visiting and she has been so helpful. I keep teasing her that every time she comes, one of us gets sick. She was here last spring when I got a horrible stomach flu. There is something about having your mom around when you (or your little one) is sick that is so comforting. Her presence and that she’s a nurse with 30 years of experience helps too.

To help pass the hours we’ve been locked in the house with a sick kid, we got to cooking:

First up was homemade pizza. Tomato basil for the adults and Hawaiian for Jack (and me, let’s be honest, it’s my favorite)

Next there was another batch of my yummy spaghetti sauce:

And we finished up the weekend with my first ever homemade carrot cake:

And it was so good.

Tomorrow I have another doctor’s appointment. I don’t think the scale will be forgiving. But, it was worth it.

2 Responses to “Sick”


  1. 1 itsybitsymama February 1, 2010 at 6:55 am

    Wow! First sick visit! Good for you for keeping so healthy for so long! We got hit badly last year with a couple of ear infections and a stomach bug. We’re battling colds now and there is nothing more frustrating than trying ot wipe the never ending drippy nose of a toddler. Ian hates that!! Feel better soon. I want pizza now!

  2. 2 colleen cosgrove February 3, 2010 at 8:53 am

    I hope Jack is feeling better. Please give us an update. He still looks happy in the pictures, even when he is sick,,so cute.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


