Homemade Granola

Between getting a 5am wake up call from a certain demanding 1-year-old and facing down yet another grey wet winter day, I decided it was the perfect opportunity to try a new recipe.

Domestic Reflections mentioned this recipe in her post this week and digging around my pantry today, I realized I had everything I needed (with a few small alterations).

Looks yummy huh?

Fruit and Nut Granola

  • 4 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 cup slivered almonds
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1.5 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 cups mixed dried fruit (I used raisins, craisins and dried blueberries)

Here’s what I did…not exactly what the original recipe calls for, but it turned out great anyway. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Heat butter and honey in a small saucepan over low heat. Mix oats, coconut, nuts, dried fruit and spices in a bowl. Pour honey butter over mixture and combine thoroughly. (The Gourmet recipe calls for separating the dried fruit until the granola is finished baking and then mixing it in afterwards. I didn’t read that part, added the fruit and baked it anyway. It didn’t seem to alter the fruit).

Spread granola over two shallow baking dishes or ridged baking sheets. Bake for 20 to 30 minutes until golden brown. I did not do this, instead I piled the granola on one pan, and I had to turn it over several times to make sure all of it cooked. It also took 45 minutes to cook on the one tray. Next time, two trays for sure.

So easy. So good. I let Jack help by giving him a spatula and letting him stir the oats. It made a huge mess but he had a blast and it was fun to do a little project ‘together.’ Unless you consider him pulling all my kitchen utensils and tubberware out of the cupboards and me picking it all up 27 times a day a ‘project.’

1 Response to “Homemade Granola”


  1. 1 Tysa February 12, 2010 at 10:50 am

    I make homemade granola for Christmas presents. Our parents love to receive it. This is a different recipe than mine though. I’ll have to try it. I use the recipe from The Tightwad Gazette. I can’t remember all of it, but I think it includes dried milk.

    That looks so yummy. I hope he slept better this morning. My boys have an uncanny ability to decide that it is time for a bottle 45 minutes before my alarm goes off. It is so frustrating.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


