Love and All That Mushy Stuff

(hiking in Utah…circa 2007?)

It’s easy for me to take my spouse for granted.

But not yesterday.

Yesterday Aaron saved my bacon and I’m still thinking about how absolutely grateful I am to have him in my life. And not just when he saves the day.

I was on my way to work, late, blasting music trying to wake up when I started hearing a very weird loud noise. I thought it was the ghetto blaster car driving next to me, but when the car turned and the noise only got louder, I realized it was me. I thought maybe my muffler was loose or broken and because I was just about to get on the freeway, I thought I better pull over and make sure nothing was dragging on the ground.

I pulled into a gas station and got out to look at the damage. My back driver side tire was completely flat — as in driving on the rim. Oops. The air was hissing out of the tire. I immediately call Aaron, knowing full well that he has a VERY important meeting in 45 minutes, but I didn’t know what else to do.

In five minutes he was there, changing the tire in his suit pants and tie. Never complaining once. When I apologized for ruining his morning, he shrugged his shoulders. “This stuff happens, don’t worry about it.” Oh I love my husband when he says that.

We laughed a little bit about my reliance on him. I could have called a tow truck. I technically could have changed the tire on my own. But, none of that even entered my mind. I knew he would not just take care of the tire, but he would take care of me, and there is no better feeling in the world.

I don’t mean to come off like a wimp, who can’t do anything without her husband, because what I’m really trying to say is I have complete trust in my partner; for little things like rescuing me when I have a flat tire and really big things like raising children together.

I give him a hard time a lot. Like last night when he started manically spraying the tile grout in our kitchen with windex. ‘What…it’s amonia…it’s like an all-purpose cleaner!’ Riigghhtt….

But the truth is, I feel like I won the lottery every day sharing my life with him. I love him more than words on this silly blog will ever describe. 

So thanks babe. Thanks for hanging in there with me. Thanks for saving my bacon. Thanks for being everything I ever needed and so much more. Love you.

3 Responses to “Love and All That Mushy Stuff”


  1. 1 itsybitsymama March 16, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    Awww, so sweet!

  2. 2 Jessika March 17, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    so sweet 🙂 can I ask a favor? can you please tell me how you get those adorable poloroid style pictures?

  3. 3 cate March 17, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    Do you really know how to change a tire? If so, I’m impressed.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


