17 Months

Sweet boy,

Today you are 17-months-old. Seriously, where did the time go? I feel like it was just your birthday and you were still a baby. Now you run and jump and climb. You say words and eat with a spoon and fork. That is the stuff of a kid.

I look at you in awe because sometimes I  can’t believe I had a hand in creating you. I may have housed you in my tummy for 9 months, but you are just too special and unique to take any credit for who you are.

Your smile, with those sparkly gray-green eyes and dimples, charms the pants off everyone you meet. I’m not kidding. We get stopped at Starbucks, the grocery store, the bank; it doesn’t matter, all you have to do is flash a smile and sing out your signature ‘bye-bye,’ and they are hooked.

You are one busy little boy. Your favorite toys are brooms, shovels and any tool of your dad’s you can get your hands on. You also love to play with legos, read books, push yourself around on your little car and clean out my kitchen drawers. Because the weather has been steadily warming up, we spend part of each day outside and nothing makes you happier. It’s a little stressful between the pool and the pond, (not to mention the dog poop) but witnessing your pure joy at running around outside makes it all worth it.

I wish I could accurately capture who you are these days. You are silly. You are intense. You are a little man on a mission. You can be serious and quiet. You can be LOUD. You are breathtakingly sweet. You talk constantly. It’s mostly gibberish, but it’s the sweetest sound I’ve ever heard.

 You push limits. Sometimes you hit, when you know you shouldn’t. You throw tantrums. You are opinionated. 

You call Aaron and I both ‘Mama.’ But you point at the tools hanging in the garage and seriously tell me ‘Dada’s.’ If I walk down the hall or disappear out of your peripheral, you immediately come looking for me. ‘Mama, Mama, Mama,’ you yell throughout the house until you find me. ‘Up,’ you command. You say ‘Set…Go,’ and run and jump on the couch or off the stairs.

You seriously worship your dad. You mimic everything he does. Everything around our house is Dada’s. There is a pair of your dad’s worn cowboy boots from when he was just a little older than you that sits on a shelf in your room. You bring them to me to put on at least once a day. You love to wear your Dada’s shoes.

You give the best hugs.

You wake up happy.

You love to be carried.

You are just a little bit shy.

Sometimes you literally take my breath away. You are just that amazing to me.

I love you.

4 Responses to “17 Months”


  1. 1 Stacey March 24, 2010 at 4:15 am

    Awww, so precious! My son is almost 20 months old and he also does the “Set…go!” thing and it makes my heart explode! So cute! I laugh because sometimes he gets stuck on the “Set” part and it’s like this, “Set…set…set….GO!” 🙂

  2. 2 cate March 24, 2010 at 10:14 am

    To cute! I love that you do this for him. But what is up with the pony tail, does someone need a haircut?

  3. 3 Mary March 24, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    It is these beautiful expressions of love and the descriptions of the joy that is found in motherhood that makes me want to be a mother too, someday. Thank you for sharing this with us.

  4. 4 anna March 29, 2010 at 7:25 am

    andrea,
    i recently found your blog… and your words are so sweet about your boy. but truth be told, he looks soooo much like you did when you were a little girl. my memories of you years ago are parallel to your pictures and words. you did have a hand in creating this boy, and still do! he is a part of you, and is him partly because of you! congrats, mama (and dada)!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


