What a Week

It’s been a rough one.

The backyard project has been a bumpy ride the last few days. We aren’t out of the woods yet. But, tomorrow promises progress and I’m crossing my fingers.

I said goodbye to my grandmother this weekend. She was my last living grandparent. She was famous for her homemade potato salad (among several other things). I attempted to recreate her recipe for my father tonight as an honor to her. It wasn’t quite right, but it was close. A few more tries and I think I can nail it. She was known for her cooking, and while I have many more years of honing my skills to ever be the cook she was, I like to think maybe my own interest and love of food has a little something to do with her.

My parents are here. They are giving Jack rides in the wagon and painting the new baby’s room. They make the gaping hole in the backyard not seem so bad. Every time my mom looks out the window, she ohs and ahs at the yard’s potential, reminding me why we took this whole thing on.  My dad has promised to stand on the deck and ‘supervise’. I am grateful.

Tomorrow, a new week begins. Life continues on, regardless of sadness or stress or busyness. It’s up to me to pick out the gems in the midst of the mess. And there were so many, even this last week. Walks in the sunshine, friends who make lattes and let me unload while my child runs amok at their feet, reassuring nudges and jabs to the ribs remdinging me that all is well with our little boy, the comforting embrace of my husband, kind emails, understanding family, and above all else, the whispered encouragement from my Heavenly Father.

4 Responses to “What a Week”


  1. 1 itsybitsymama April 19, 2010 at 6:00 am

    I’m sorry for your loss.

  2. 2 cate April 19, 2010 at 7:12 am

    Sorry about your grandma, and hope this family time that your getting helps out a bit. praying for you!

  3. 3 Jessi April 19, 2010 at 9:03 am

    I am sorry for your loss! I am Mom and Dad Boyle are there to hang out and spread the love. I am excited to see your yard when we come in May!

  4. 4 laurel April 19, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    So sorry for your loss. Thinking of you with all that is going on.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


