The Real Side of Mothering

You know when it’s been quiet for just a minute too long and you think….’hmmm, I wonder what the kid is into?’

Yeah, don’t ignore that intuition. Because nine times out ten, they are up to no good.

Take today for instance, I was in the process of going through infant bins, organizing clothes and making laundry piles. Jack’s new room is just about finished and I was working on moving some baby stuff back into the nursery. Jack had been running in and out of both rooms, playing and chattering. I must have been concentrating because all of a sudden I noticed my sidekick had gone missing.

Cue intuition to go FIND said child.

Nope…I decided to just call for him and see if he would come back to me. Yeah right.

Another minute or two goes by. It’s very quiet. Time to investigate…

What do I find?

My precious angel baby sitting on the floor of my bathroom with my sonicare toothbush using it to clean out my floor vent (which he somehow figured out how to remove the grate). At first glance, it’s not the biggest deal. Gross for sure, but nothing I can’t clean up relatively easily. Until I take a good look around and see that half the toilet bowl water is now on the floor, and my kid’s shirt is all wet and he is sadly shaking his head saying, ‘no, no, no!’

I’m pretty sure Jack brushed his teeth with toilet water, had some fun splashing and then moved onto the vent…

He hands me the toothbrush and attempts to make a hasty exit. I have to hand it to him, he’s a smart one.

I dry heave a 1,000 times, say just as many swear words under my breath, clean up the mess and put my toothbrush in the dishwasher. (I will be buying a new head tonight…)

And to think I somehow thought being a mom would be relaxing. Ha!

5 Responses to “The Real Side of Mothering”


  1. 1 itsybitsymama June 15, 2010 at 5:49 am

    Too funny! My heart sinks in my chest when I cannot locate or hear Ian in the house. And then he comes squealing around the corner with a smirk on his face…and later I will find out what he’s been up to!

  2. 2 cate June 15, 2010 at 11:42 am

    Yes…why don’t we listen to our instincts better. I found Claire in the garage last week all by herself (note: garage door was open). I too waited for 2 minutes before I finally checked to see where she was.

  3. 3 Anna June 16, 2010 at 8:48 am

    I love hearing about Jack’s little (albeit sometimes gross) adventures. Thank you for being such an honest voice for motherhood. I love everything you share.

  4. 4 Kathryn June 16, 2010 at 10:24 am

    I am all too familiar with this situation! I sometimes miss the days before my little one was mobile. 🙂

  5. 5 erika June 16, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    i love your stories andrea! i’m slightly addicted to reading other peoples blog so thanks for brightening my afternoon with a great story!!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


