A Reason to Smile

This picture makes me happy:

We’ve been enjoying the suddenly warm/hot weather and being the sun-loving gal that I am, I’ve hauled my very pregnant self outside and taken up residence in our patio furniture.

Jack requires at least three outfits a day due to playing in water/dirt/random run-ins with dog poop ect. I literally have to scrub him with a loofa in the bathtub every night to try to get rid of the dirt under his fingernails and on the bottoms of his feet. It’s all worth it though to witness the pure joy on his face at having freedom to run and explore all over our backyard. Besides, the lazy parent in me loves that he is totally self-entertained and I can actually relax/get work done/water plants for a few minutes at a time.

We’ve started going outside around 8am when the deck is still shady but it’s nice and warm and Jack rides his tricycle or plays with the dog and I sit at the patio table and clack on the computer for a few minutes and drink my cup of coffee and it is seriously the best way to ease into the morning. (Who cares that we’ve most likely been up for two hours at that point…it still feels early).

Oh! And another thing that makes me happy:

This recipe for homemade shortcake (as in strawberry shortcake). Up until recently, I would always buy the box of bisquick, but Libby pointed this quick and easy recipe my way and now it’s my go to. Oh how I love strawberry shortcake and not just when I’m pregnant either. Having a July birthday meant my mom used to make it for me every year for breakfast, and if that’s not love, I don’t know what is.

2 Responses to “A Reason to Smile”


  1. 1 Mary June 25, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    You look beautiful!

  2. 2 cate June 29, 2010 at 10:46 am

    Yummm…strawberry shortcake for breakfast!!! That’s a good one. I love it all year also, but especially now being prego!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


