Baby Month

July is here! And that means baby month. How did that happen?

I walk past the nursery and see the crib all set up with the mattress at the highest level and the bumper in place and think…’whoah, are we really having another baby?’

Yes. Apparently we are. I packed the baby’s hospital bag last night. It seemed like the right thing to do. I’ve washed some onesies and sterilized a few of Jack’s forgotten pacifiers. I even went out and bought a new diaper pail because our first one crapped out. (cheesy pun intended).

In some ways I am more than ready for baby to arrive. I feel big and slow and uncomfortable. My crankiness is growing by the minute as sleep is dimishing by the night.

But…

My mom doesn’t arrive for two weeks and I would really like her to be here. And Jack only has a finite number of days of being the one and only, and as excited as I am to welcome our new little family member, I have a desire to soak in however much longer we have, as a family of three.

So, we shall see. The waiting game can be so hard, especially for people like me who aren’t particularly gifted with patience. I’m also trying really hard not to hope or expect to go early. It’s just not in my track record or family history. Here’s hoping the next two weeks speed by.

Aaron’s family is taking bets on birthday and weight and as each new email comes through with predictions it just makes me smile. Everyone is predicting a large overdue baby. I wonder who will win.

5 Responses to “Baby Month”


  1. 1 Ivy July 1, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    I love large overdue babies! They/re the best, healthiest kind! 😉

  2. 2 Scott July 1, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    July 20th. 8lbs 14oz

  3. 3 Mary July 1, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    Happy Baby Month!

  4. 4 Libby July 1, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    We love early babies, overdue babies, all babies! I can’t believe it’s baby month! Wo-hoo!

  5. 5 Courtney July 2, 2010 at 10:40 am

    I got checked for the first time yesterday and I’m at a 1 which is what I was for weeks with Ian until he arrived one week past his due date. My mom started the talk of how she thinks the baby will come early so it’s ingrained in my head and yesterday at the doctor’s they already started talking about induction plans just in case…I hope to go on my own. I *think* I am ready. I can’t believe it’s July and I think the same thing about walking by the crib with the mattress on its highest setting! Here’s to feeling good for the next few weeks! : )


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


