Motherhood: Tender Mercies Edition

I really love being a mom. And in a lot of ways, I think I’m a pretty decent one. But in one area I fail with a capital F…and that’s when my kid(s) get sick.

I wring my hands, I fret, I obsess, I make everything a way bigger deal than it needs to be. I border on hysterical over ear infections, tummy aches and head colds.

My husband doesn’t get it. Nothing grosses him out and he just doesn’t worry when it comes to health. He knows our kid(s) are healthy and anything that comes their way,  they can handle.

I think the heart of the issue is when my kid(s) are sick, it’s completely out of my control. I don’t know when they are going to puke, I don’t know how high the fever is going to get, I don’t know if it’s just a bug or something much bigger. And I hate that. Like really really really hate it.

So the point of this rambling?

Jack spiked alow-grade fever today. He was acting funny; listlessly watching tv, refusing to eat, pointing at his mouth and belly when I asked him what hurt.  I thought for sure he was going to get sick. (which if you know me at all, you know I really really hate puke, like a lot). Thankfully, it was almost 5 and so I called Aaron and begged him to come home. Puke was imminent and I needed back up.

I tossed up a frantic prayer…’please please no puke until Aaron gets home.’

Aaron walked in the door and not only was there no puke, but my dear husband took charge. He got Jack some water, laid with him and watched a few Elmo episodes and offered him a piece of toast. The kid enthusiastically ate his toast, and then asked for yogurt, which he ate and then proceeded to lick the bowl. Within minutes he was bouncing off the walls and acting like his usual boisterous, happy self.

Uhh…what?

 I thought he was sick and on his deathbed and that we were all going to get the flu and then we wouldn’t be able to go out-of-town this weekend. (You can see how rational my brain is).

A little dinner, some Elmo and a dose of motrin and you would never know the kid had been under the weather. He’s drooling up a storm so it might be teeth or a tiny virus. But regardless, it’s not Ebola. We will all live another day.

We read extra stories tonight and I apologized for being a spaz. My husband was able to make it to his work dinner. Jack is tucked snug in his bed and Luke is asleep on my lap. I feel grateful that God hears the simplest, silliest, most ridiculous prayers and because He knows our hearts, and knows what we need, answers them in the most tender of ways.

I am blessed. So very blessed. And not just because I avoided kid puke while Jack was on my watch. But because this silly afternoon, where I was humbled by my own lame behavior, reminded me in a very clear way what a gentle and loving Father in Heaven we have.

2 Responses to “Motherhood: Tender Mercies Edition”


  1. 1 Ivy August 18, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    🙂 If this was on Facebook, I would “like” it.

  2. 2 Stacey August 19, 2010 at 4:53 am

    OMG, you just made me feel a million times better because I feel the same way about puke. Like I’ve had actual anxiety attacks about it. I realize it’s a little strange of me, but I can’t help it. It’s definitely that not having control of the situation thing when it comes to my child. So THANK YOU for writing this. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


