A Letter to my Littlest Boy

 

My sweetheart,

Oh, how I love you.

You are the essence of sweetness and I just can’t get enough of you. I miss you when you sleep (which is a lot) and the brief times I’m away from you are almost physically painful because I just can’t bear to be away. But it’s not just me that so thoroughly adores you. Your daddy and big brother can’t get enough of you either. We all love to hug and kiss you, squeezing your chubby hands and blowing raspberries on your tummy. We’ll do anything for a smile.

You are the perfect addition to our little family and in six short weeks I’ve forgotten what life was like before you. So far you are a quiet little soul, content to lay on a blanket or in your bouncy seat and take the world in. I prefer to keep you close to me as much as possible. In fact, right this very second you are asleep on my chest. You happily ride in the Bjorn or a sling as we chase after your big brother. You ride in the stroller like a champ and just like your big brother, you love to ride in the car.

Six weeks. Really? How has it gone so fast?

You hold your head up. You smile the sweetest grin, lighting up your entire face and flashing two beautiful little dimples. You are sleeping at least one four-hour stretch in the night and if you didn’t love to snuggle as much as I do, you would probably sleep longer. You think co-sleeping is the way to go and although you almost always find your way into our bed at some point in the night, I think we both know at some point that has to come to an end. Maybe next month…

And while the world hasn’t slowed down all that much since your arrival, I want to take a moment and reflect on just how much you are loved. Thank you for being such a trooper. Thank you for being perfectly you. I can’t wait to see who you develop into over the next several months. Every day you are a little more awake, giving us a glimpse at the person you are becoming, and we can’t wait to see what’s around the next corner.

I love you.

2 Responses to “A Letter to my Littlest Boy”


  1. 2 Jayne August 25, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    How sweet and adorable Luke is! You made my heart feel good!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


