Five

We are five:

Our anniversary was actually August 27th but true to my nature, we’ve been stretching out the celebrating as long as possible. The weekend of our anniversary we put the kiddos to bed early and made dinner for just the two of us. We sat in the kitchen together and talked and laughed, sipping wine and eating our dinner uninterrupted. It was absolutely perfect.

The blurry picture above is a snapshot of our dinner, which happens to be our favorite meal right now. Take a french baguette slathered in homemade pesto (with basil from our garden!) fresh sliced tomatoes (again with the garden) and parmesan cheese. Broil  just until the cheese melts and then devour. It’s best straight out of the oven and served with red wine.

What can I say about five years?

The only word that comes to mind is grateful.

I’m grateful to be married to such a kind, loving and devoted man.

I’m grateful to have made two beautiful perfect little boys with that man.

I’m grateful for the simple life we’ve created.

I’m grateful that in the hardest ugliest moments, I look at him and know with every fiber of my being that we are in this together, forever, and that makes any challenge worth dealing with.

I’m grateful that we make each other laugh, we get each other like no one else can and even better we LIKE each other.

I’m grateful he is my biggest cheerleader, quick to defend me and the first to challenge and speak truth into my life when I need it.

I’m grateful we have each other.

I am the first to admit that in the chaos of babies and house stuff, work and general life ‘stuff’ I easily lose track of what I’m most grateful for. I am short-tempered and selfish.

But in tender moments like tonight, when all four of us were snuggled in bed, our jammied babies with their sweet-smelling heads tucked into the crooks of our arms,  the sweetness of these moments washes over me and I am humbled by the sheer gratitude I feel for this life…these children…this man.

It is so good and I feel so lucky.

1 Response to “Five”


  1. 1 Bre September 9, 2010 at 11:26 am

    I love this post. I’m so greatful you met my brother and fell in love with him. I’m greatful to witness such a beautiful family. I’m greatful to have you in my life!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


