A Really Amazing Day

I’ve been thinking about this blog post for a week now. Waiting for the perfect words to come to mind. But they haven’t and as I’ve thought and thought about how to write about the baptism of our boys, I’m finally realizing that it doesn’t matter if the words are right or if I get the perfect analogy. What matters is that it gets down on ‘paper.’

A week ago Sunday we baptized Jack and Luke at First Presbyterian Church.

I knew the day would be special; but that word doesn’t even come close to describing it. To stand in front of our church family and commit to raising our sons to know and serve Jesus Christ and have them promise to help us along our way; to pray for us, encourage us and love our babies is probably one of the most meaningful experiences I’ve had in my  Christian walk.

I was so moved to have almost our entire family standing up there with us. I was honored to share the stage with the children of the congregation who got to join us as part of the children’s sermon. I was proud to proclaim my faith and to hold my husband’s hand as our pastor gently anointed our children with water.

surprisingly, having our boy’s baptized reaffirmed a love and commitment to the church body. Something I don’t think I was even aware I was missing until now.

Because when I go through my pictures, this is what nearly brings me to tears every time I look at it:

An entire congregation, holding hands, singing Jesus Loves Me to my family. Praying for us. Praying for our boys.

This is church. And it is beautiful.

4 Responses to “A Really Amazing Day”


  1. 1 shelby November 1, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    thanks for sharing. what a beautiful testimony to the faithfulness of God, that He promises us, in spite of our weakness, misunderstanding and brokenness, that He will finish what He started. God is so good!

  2. 2 Scott November 1, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    This makes me happy and sad at the same time. So happy for you guys, so sad that we could not be there to be a part of it. We promise to be there for the next (yes, that’s right, next!) kid baptism.

    We love your family!

  3. 3 natalie November 2, 2010 at 8:16 am

    beautifully written andrea. Im so happy for you that it was such a spiritual experience. I hope our experience with Dane’s baptism is just as wonderful and spiritual as yours. 🙂

  4. 4 Jessika November 3, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    Beautiful. Just beautiful.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


