A Makeover

Remember when I mentioned we weren’t going to do any more projects in 2010? Well…ha ha…that kind of went out the door. The thing is, my living room has always bugged me. You can see how it was decorated here and here.

I hated all the oak and funny red tile on the fireplace. The furniture was arranged in an odd way that didn’t allow the room to flow very well and we ended up not using the room at all. More than anything, it just didn’t feel like ‘us.’

I had this vision of a funky but modern room that was light and airy. And here’s what we came up with:

The stars of the show are these babies:

A pair of garage sale chairs I bought over a year ago at an estate sale down the street. They were ugly, worn out and stunk, but I knew with a little TLC they could be fabulous. I bought the fabric 50 percent off from Hancock Fabric’s during their anniversary sale and had them upholstered by a local shop here in Yakima. It wasn’t cheap per se, but I certainly couldn’t buy these two chairs for what I paid in fabric and labor.  

My mom helped me paint the shelves and fireplace. I have been dreaming and scheming about painting the woodwork white since we moved in but didn’t have the guts to do it myself. I got several bids this fall to have it professionally painted and they were all over $1,000. With a little luck and a whole lot of skill on my mom’s part she was able to spray paint, yes, spray paint the wood. It turned out beautifully and you would never know. She did a base coat of latex paint and then used an oil based spray paint to do a top coat. Did I mention the paint and all the materials cost just under a $100?

Aaron re-tiled the fireplace with 2 inch slate tiles. We installed slate tile in the fireplace at our old house and while it’s a very popular option right now, (and something I usually try to steer clear of), I loved the look and feel of the tile. And, the fact that it’s incredibly affordable, helped too.

The couch was my grandmother’s. This couch was the tipping point in deciding to move forward with the project. My mom, who I inherited the decorating itch from, decided she didn’t want the couch anymore. She knew I’d always loved it and offered to give it to me. I knew it would match my chairs and once I actually had the couch, there was no turning back.

We painted the dining room too. The walls were a little beige for me and I wanted more contrast. I think it adds nice contrast to the living room and it’s really pretty to stand in the dining room and look into the kitchen. It reads very blue in the photographs but it’s much more gray in natual light.

Next up we are going to paint the dining room hutch so that it matches the living room and eventually the banister.

All in all a really fun project for not much money. What do you think?

12 Responses to “A Makeover”


  1. 1 Biscuit November 2, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    I’m really digging the chandelier! You have excellent taste, you’re such a grown up 😉

  2. 2 Jenny M. November 2, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    Looks great…what a difference! The white looks great and great find on the chairs and fabric! I’ll go garage sale-ing with you anytime 🙂

  3. 3 trisha November 3, 2010 at 12:58 am

    Wow looks great! What a difference! Can’t wait to see it in person. You guys have done amazing things with that house!

  4. 4 itsybitsymama November 3, 2010 at 6:26 am

    I love, love, love it! Where did you get your curtains? We are on the hunt!

  5. 5 Ivy November 3, 2010 at 7:17 am

    It looks fabulous! And way to be thrifty!

  6. 6 Tysa November 3, 2010 at 8:02 am

    Fabulous room! I especially love the Wyeth print.

  7. 7 Jessi November 3, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Love it! I love the gray paint in the dining room. It really makes a difference!

  8. 8 Cate November 3, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Looks awesome! That is not the same fabric on the sofa though…did you cover that up too? Your going to have to start house shopping again, your almost out of projects!!!

  9. 9 Carlee November 3, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    i’m drooling over those chairs. i would shudder to think what they’d cost new. way to go!

  10. 10 Jessika November 3, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    So pretty! Really, when do you find the time?! I have so many ideas and so little time- nice work lady!!


  1. 1 2010 In Review « A New Day Rises Trackback on January 2, 2011 at 10:11 pm
  2. 2 More Spraypaint « A New Day Rises Trackback on February 24, 2011 at 3:51 pm

Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


