4 Months — Updated

Luke is sleeping on the couch right now. Snuggled in with his favorite green blanky, sucking his thumb. Every once in a while he rustles and shifts and without thinking, I gently rub his little chest.

I can’t believe it’s been four months already. And yet, sometimes I can’t believe he’s only been in our lives for four months. He is sunshine. A perfect little package of sweetness; open mouth grins, dimples, leg rolls and milk breath.

He laughs now. Big and loud. He loves to watch Jack jump off the couch. He loves to be held by his Daddy. But most of all, and I don’t mean this in a prideful way (but maybe just a little), he really really loves me. He loves for me to hold him. He loves when I make faces at him. He loves to sleep in the crook of my arm.

In some ways I can’t believe there was a time before Luke.

With Jack, because everything was new and I had no way of seeing around the bend, I was always eager to look ahead. To try to get to the next thing. Everything was a mystery to uncover; sleeping, eating, rolling over, crawling and walking. I still catch myself with that mentality.

But with Luke, it’s a little different. It’s calmer. Not so rushed. What lacks in excitement is more than made up for in confidence. If anything I want things to slow down so that I can eat up every moment with this baby.

Both my babies.

This season of life can be so hard sometimes, fraught with lack of sleep and hormones and stress and obligations. And yet, when I sift through all of it, and get to what really matters, which is my children and my husband, I am overwhelmed with gratitude. I am in awe of the blessings of my life. I am thrilled at the job I get to do everyday: be a mother.

For my own memory: Luke had his well-baby check and he weighed in at 17.13 pounds and 26.5 inches long. He is in the 92nd percentile for weight and 95th for height. Somehow, we grow em’ nice and big! He wears mostly six-month clothes, sleeps consistently in six hour blocks at night and has rolled over a couple of times but not consistently. He loves his green blanky, sucking his thumb, sitting in his bouncy seat and nursing. He is learning to tolerate tummy time and is getting the hang of grabbing toys and bringing them to his mouth.

3 Responses to “4 Months — Updated”


  1. 1 cate November 8, 2010 at 11:38 am

    I hear ya…no rush this time around. Claire rolled over at 3 months, and callahan isn’t even close…probably because we never do tummy time and I just hold her instead!

  2. 2 Jessi November 8, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    You can tell he is a sweetheart in these pictures! I am still in the first stages of motherhood, just waiting with excitement for the next stage. But I definitely understand how fast time flies, yet you can’t imagine life before new baby. I love your updates, they are inspiring, keep them coming! Love you lots friend!

  3. 3 Jen November 10, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    Your post is so true! I love the photos and reading about your sweet baby! I’m with you, let’s slow time down a bit! 🙂

    Miss you!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


