These Boys

These boys. They make life so sweet.

Life lately has been this funky pendulum swing from heart-bursting, bring-me-to-tears joy and hair-pulling frustration with a side order of weariness. Fun huh?

I think a chunk of it is hormones. And lack of sleep. I think the rest is just mothering. This is the nature of life right now. I don’t say this in complaint or to be negative. It is an honor and a joy to be my children’s mother. I wouldn’t trade this season in life, but that doesn’t mean that it’s easy…or even always enjoyable.

I’m not talking about the actual tasks of mothering, we all know it isn’t fun to change poopy diapers, nurse around the clock, kiss boo boos, dole out time-outs and cut the crusts off sandwiches…day in and day out. (need I go on?)

But the act of mothering, is filled with mountains and valleys. The high’s are the highest highs you will ever feel. But the lows, oh man, they are deep and the memory of them lasts.

What I’m learning, albeit in fits and starts, is that I can’t do it alone. First and foremost I can’t raise these little beings to reach the fullest potential of who they are and I certainly can’t be the mother I want to be without Jesus. And then, I can’t do it without my husband and family and friends.

But I was inspired this week. And I was reminded once again what an honor it is to be a mother. To have these sweet souls in my life. And as we round the corner towards Thanksgiving, I am grateful. Oh so grateful.

4 Responses to “These Boys”


  1. 1 Tysa November 22, 2010 at 10:12 am

    Beautiful photos! Sometimes it is difficult to be grateful in the middle of all the crying, clinginess and poopy diapers, but at the end of the day, as I kiss them goodnight, I remember how blessed we are to have our children. I think all mom’s know that feeling.

  2. 2 Ellicia November 22, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    I enjoy stopping by your blog. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts, feelings, and photos. We hope to see you soon!

    ~ Ellicia and Geoff

  3. 3 Cate November 23, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Cute first picture…I love the look luck is giving! and AMEN to the rest of the blog, I share your joys, frustrations, and thankfulness all to well! Love ya friend!

  4. 4 Cate November 23, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Luke that is, sorry I spelled his name wrong.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


