And then there’s this…

Here are some very blurry photos to document what we’ve been up to lately:

So…yeah.

The whole crib thing is a bummer. I won’t lie, I had hoped to contain him for at least another 6 months. Now, instead of calling for us in the morning, he just hops right out and comes to find us.

‘Mommy? Daddy? Watch Elmo? Milk? Nanie (banana)? Mommy bed?

I feel a little overwhelmed at teaching him how to sleep in a bed. I think he can do it. I’m certain he will do it…duh, but the process…the couple of days weeks it will take to train him is what feels daunting.

And quite honestly, it’s a selfish thing on my part. We have a solid schedule at our house. Jack consistently sleeps from 7:30pm to 6m and from 1pm to 4pm. And while I would love for him to sleep an extra 30 minutes in the morning, I can live with it, because I get three glorious hours in the afternoon. That’s when I do the bulk of my freelance work, fit in a blog, sometimes take a shower or run the vacuum.

I don’t want to slide backwards on sleep…even for a few weeks.

But I guess I don’t have much of a choice.

I’m thinking after Christmas. Yep, definitely after Christmas.

6 Responses to “And then there’s this…”


  1. 1 Carlee December 7, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    ok, that picture sequence is amazing. i laughed outLOUD. way to capture it! he’s adorable. good luck. 🙂

  2. 2 Libby December 7, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    Hmmm…not sure which is worse. A little one who stays in his crib but undresses himself all the time, or a little one who can get out of his crib? OK, you win. An early, early morning wake-up call is the worst, even when they are cute. I’ve heard rumors of *some* parents using a baby gate at the bedroom door…

  3. 3 itsybitsymama December 8, 2010 at 5:45 am

    Ah! Love the pic sequence! We transitioned Ian to a big boy bed a couple of months before the baby came since we didn’t want to get another crib. He did pretty well and at first he would’t get that he could get out of the bed and come to us in our room. Now we get visits at all hours of the night, but for the most part, he sleeps well and I can’t even imagine him in a crib. He has taken to trying to climb IN the crib when he sees Arthur there! Good luck with the transition.

  4. 4 Tysa December 8, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    I dread moving the twins to a toddler bed. With my older two, they were great crib sleepers, terrible bed sleepers. My 4 year old regularly ends up in bed with us.

    Love the photos!

  5. 5 Heather December 9, 2010 at 10:45 am

    great pictures

  6. 6 Cate December 14, 2010 at 10:24 am

    I think the ealier you switch out of a crib the better! Don’t wait to long! But it is very scary to think that your baby can just get out of bed.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


