It’s Only January

I have grand plans for this year.

They involve elaborate Lego structures and walks to the park and piles of books read on the couch. In my mind, this is the year that every day is a fun adventure with my boys. From leisurely walks to the library with a stop for a treat to days spent puttering in the backyard, playing baseball and riding trikes.

Ha.

Three weeks in and my phone is permanently glued to my hand, taking work phone calls and emails at all hours of the day and night. I am flustered and annoyed by the mess, the questions, the crying…the constant needs of my little ones. The dishes and laundry beckon constantly and I have zero motivation to cook dinner. French toast…again? for dinner?

This isn’t to say the year is shot, or that I can’t right the wrong, but I think I somehow thought it would be easy. Somewhere in my little pea brain I always think parenting will be easy or simple. Ha! It’s not. It takes focus and concentration. Determination. Sacrifice. Dying to myself.

Today we took a little trip to Starbucks and shared a mini chocolate donut. Jack played outside with Rem for a few minutes and I snuggled my littlest babe. Luke went down for a nap and now Jack is chattering away to me while playing with play dough and I am going to wrap this up, so I can go and be with my kid.

My grand plans for the year may or may not work out. Real life might get in the way of my magical days (where it’s always sunny and we eat popsicles for lunch), but I know what I can do. Be present. Be intentional for the boys and myself.

Three weeks in to the new year and already time to refocus and start again.

Here we go.

2 Responses to “It’s Only January”


  1. 1 itsybitsymama January 20, 2011 at 11:40 am

    I’m right there with you! I wish Ian and Jack could meet–Jack is doing the very things Ian likes to do in these pictures!

  2. 2 Cate January 20, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    I tell myself all the time that dishes and laundry can wait…they grow to fast. I know it’s hard cause we both go crazy when our house looks like crap!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


