Just Regular Days

Not much is new around here.

Potty training that seems to be plateauing. (Pees at home when in underware…add pants to the mix and it’s game over).

He will kill me for this picture someday. It’s so cute though.

I started boot camp. Twice a week I go get my butt kicked into gear with a bunch of other ladies and one poor dude who is rethinking his definition of ‘bootcamp.’ I’m sore, but in a good way.

My first tulip bloomed this week. hallelujah. It’s taking serious willpower not to go crazy with plants and bulbs and seeds…I’m pretty well ready to hand over our savings account to the nice people at Home Depot for one of every item in the garden department.

In trying to explain that our little chicks are girls…we decided to name them after the sweet girls at Jack’s daycare. Meet Ruby, Sophia, Scarlett and Piper.

Luke is a rolling scooting machine. His two teeth are huge. He LOVES to eat. He is sleeping like crap. He babbles constantly and I am already having twinges of sadness that he keeps growing up and I just don’t like it one bit.

Jack loves to ride his bike although the pedaling thing is still a mystery. He has started really playing with toys again after taking about a year off in favor of just destroying things. He like to ‘pretend’ to go to bed by making a pile of blankets and pillows on the couch and asking us to ‘snuggle’ him. He can tell me long rambling stories about what he ate for lunch and what ‘Jack’s Daddy is doing at work and who he played with at daycare. He points out every school bus and tractor he sees. I feel like we’ve rounded some kind of developmental milestone and I have to say I am enjoying it VERY much. There are still days of screaming fits and general destruction but more and more I feel like I’m seeing his personality emerge and it’s funny and quirky and a little silly and a whole lot hilarious.

Just regular days around here…not much going on at all.

4 Responses to “Just Regular Days”


  1. 1 Emily April 6, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    Andrea – yep, still reading your blog on a regular basis and loving it. 🙂 Just wanted to let you know that in the midst of some crap happening in my life recently, the picture of Jack sticking his tongue out has completely made my day, maybe even my week! Thank you for sharing, your pictures, as well as the happenings in your life.

    Much love,
    Em

  2. 2 Courtney April 7, 2011 at 7:15 am

    I laughed out loud at your post. When you started naming all the things Jack is doing with talking about what he ate and how Jack’s daddy does this…etc. Ian does this too! I wish our kiddos could have a playdate. It would be so fun! Arthur is sleeping better, just up once consistently at 2:30am. He is getting back to back colds/flu/thrush. He can’t win! I can’t win! But when he smiles through all of it, I melt.

    Good luck with the potty training. We did one day of pull-ups and no pants. Then we did pull ups with pants. Then we continued with pull ups with pants for a week and he’s uin nderwear now. I had to buy new pants since lots of his have buttons/zippers and we were having none of that. So he lives in sweats most days!

    Good luck and happy spring!

  3. 3 Cate April 7, 2011 at 8:21 am

    You really named a chick piper? wasn’t that one of aarons ex-girlfriends?
    Cute pics of the kids!


  1. 1 Wrapping Up a Year « A New Day Rises Trackback on January 2, 2012 at 9:11 am

Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


