An Update of Sorts

It’s Friday afternoon at 4pm. There are a million other things I should be doing (you know, like picking up my house so my husband doesn’t think we got robbed or paying attention to my children) but Aaron mentioned I hadn’t blogged in forever and it is true. When I take an unintentional break, it gets so hard to jump back in. I’m not sure why that is.

Luke crawls. Have I mentioned that? And eats things like toast and yogurt and teeny tiny bits of green beans and pasta and avocado. He is 10 months old. We’ve spent this week sleep training him after he started back with his newborn ways of waking several times a night. He is quickly moving onto mastering pulling himself up and I am now constantly on high alert chasing after both my mobile boys.

Jack is really getting the hang of the potty thing…finally. Although, every time I think we are having a breakthrough, we seem to take a few steps back. So, we’ll see. But, I’m cautiously optimistic. We’ve been spending a lots of time outside as spring hs finally come around to stay. He loves the chickens and riding his big wheel like a scooter. He still digs in the dirt the majority of the time, which means I’m back to cleaning my floors of mud and dust nearly constantly.

As for Aaron and I, it’s been a little up and down the last couple of weeks. Our basement flooded due to a broken irrigation line. As is well-known, we are unfortunately quite familiar with water damage, having had a serious flood at our old house. When Aaron called me downstairs the night it happened (of course at 10:30pm at night), I just wanted to scream. I had zero energy to try to clean up the mess but my sweet husband got out the shop vac and got to work sucking up water for nearly three hours. After a couple of visits from the carpet cleaners and a week straight of industrial fans blowing, it looks like we can save the carpet. Now we just have to put our basement back together.

Aaron and Jack digging a hole to look for the irrigation leak. Jack sitting in the hole. Notice how saturated the dirt is?

In the meantime, Rem had to take a trip to the vet for an infection on his tail. (I’ll spare you the photos, but he chewed off a significant portion of his fur, leaving his tail looking a little rat-esque. Disgusting). Thankfully, he’s seems to be on the mend.

Rem on the way home. Blissfully unaware he was about to be fitted with a cone.

There’s been a few bright spots too. At least for Aaron. He brought this baby home this week. He’s been wanting a ‘project truck’ for a while now. And whoa baby, this is one project.

2 Responses to “An Update of Sorts”


  1. 1 Brant Araki May 14, 2011 at 10:20 am

    I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I absolutely enjoying every petite bit of it. I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.

  2. 2 Cate May 17, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    That is a beautiful picture of you and Luke!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


