Overdue

And just like that it’s been a month. Hello blog; its been a while.

And because I’m not really sure where to begin, I’ll just kick off with a few quick takes:

1. I quit my job.

For nearly three years now I’ve worked part-time in the advancement (fundraising) department of a medical school. I’ve worked mostly from home but the last six months my responsibilities have grown, requiring more and more hours. Trying to find the hours was getting increasingly tricky. Many times I worked late into the evening, sometimes to midnight or later. It was bad for our family life, my marriage and it made me a tired cranky mother. The balance was off and Aaron and I both knew something needed to change. In mid-July I offered up an exsasperated prayer for a new situation and a week later I had one. God moves in amazing and mysterious ways. As of tomorrow, I’m officially back to consulting: a few steady clients but less overall work and significantly less time in a crowded windowless office. I’ve never been very good at the office thing anyway. I am eager to find a new normal and day to day schedule, one that is much less tethered to email dinging on my iPhone and much more focused on playing and being with my kids. I’ve read a couple of inspiring blog posts the last couple weeks about creating more ‘margins’ in your life (i.e., not rushing from activity or activity and leaving room for spontaneity and rest.) This well-timed advice is inspiration for our family dynamic this fall. More time just being.

2. Preschool

Jack starts preschool tomorrow. He’ll go two days a week for 2.5 hours at a church-run program. He will be one of the youngest, at just shy of 3-years-old, but I’m confident he’ll do great. He has new school shoes, an adorable haircut and a new preschool bag with his name screen printed on it. As we’ve rounded the corner into this week, Aaron and I keep talking about how quickly time has passed. It seems like yesterday I was atrociously pregnant with our boy, anticipating his arrival and wondering who my baby would be and now he’s a full-blown kid with opinions and stories to tell and he’s going to go to SCHOOL. It all seems a little impossible. And exciting. And a little scary. Can you tell he’s my first kid?

3. Summer

Our little neck of the woods never hit its typical 100 degrees but we’ve still had a heck of a summer. Lots of time spent puttering and working in the yard, playing with the boys, splashing in the wading pool and even better, hanging out with my parents who are still getting settled into their new house. We’ve made trips to Spokane and Seattle, Lake Roosevelt, Ketchum, Idaho, an inaugural camping trip with the boys and Aaron went on his annual all-guys crabbing weekend in the San Juan islands. It’s been busy, but oh so fun.

4. The Chickens

They stink. And have crazy eyes. And poop way more than should ever be allowed. But a couple of them are finally laying eggs so we forgive them their sins. I’m still waiting for my one girl to start giving me green eggs (I will most definitely be taking pictures when it finally happens) but at this point I’m just happy and grateful to be getting eggs! Also, the boys absolutely love those feathered dinosaurs. Luke bear crawls his way to their coop the second he gets a chance and Jack has been caught many a times standing on top the coop, dumping chicken food into the coop, offering them a ‘snack.’

5. Anniversary

It was our six-year anniversary last weekend. We celebrated by going to a quirky little restaurant in the next town over. We drove the river canyon home with all the windows down and reminisced about when we were ‘just dating’ and ‘just married’ and ‘just had one kid.’ One day I think we’ll look back and laugh and talk about when we ‘just had two toddlers.’ Needless to say it was a wonderful weekend of just being together, with time for just us and time as a family. This weekend we are continuing the celebration with tickets to the Dave Matthews concert. I can’t wait.

6. Garden

The raspberries are ready to harvest again, the second time this summer. We have about 25 pumpkins in varying sizes and shapes. Some are white and a few are already completely orange. Our peppers didn’t do so hot this year and neither did the cucumbers. I don’t think the cucs got enough sunshine; the zucchini hogged all their space. We ate green beans until we were turning green and now its daily tomato mozzarella sandwiches. Soon we’ll harvest potatoes and then we’ll be done for the year. This little garden space has given Aaron and I so much pleasure. Jack loves to ‘help’ pick anything we happen to be inspecting and even Luke’s been known to scoot himself out to the garden for a tomato or a dropped raspberry.

So that’s the update. Lots more to say, of course, but here’s hoping for time in the next few weeks to get back to regular posting.

4 Responses to “Overdue”


  1. 1 Bre August 31, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    So happy for a new post! I love you guys!

  2. 2 Libby August 31, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    Well hello there…I guess I can’t really say that it’s been a while, but its nice to see you back here. As always your writing is lovely dear friend.

  3. 3 Heidi Nees September 1, 2011 at 10:23 am

    Congrats on the new career change, more time with your boys!. I love reading your blog, your boys are just the cutest! Tell Aaron Hi!

  4. 4 Kathryn September 1, 2011 at 11:03 am

    I love your blog. I live across the country from you (in Alabama), but I feel like we are definitely in the same season of life. My husband and I have been married for six years and we have two sons, one is 4 months and the other is a month and a half shy of three years old. I’m contemplating putting my CPA career on hold for a while to stay home and spend more time with my boys. I feel like I could supplement our income with some part-time teaching gigs. Do you mind sharing links to the inspiring blog posts you referenced?


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


