Matchbox Cars

I let each boy pick out a matchbox car at the grocery store today. Luke grabbed at the first car I handed him, happily making ‘vroom vroom’ noises and running the packaged bright red truck along the cart while Jack carefully sifted through the bin of cars, inspecting each one, looking for a ‘big’ one and then a ‘blue’ one…no maybe yellow, or green until finally settling on a Lightening McQueen lookalike cherry red race car.

You would have thought I handed the boys the moon, instead of cheap $.84 cent toys. I love when I get to do that; offer a sweet surprise, a little treat or small reward.

We got home and Jack begged me to open the packages. Both boys took off for Jack’s room where they happily pushed the cars along the hardwood floor, giggling as they flew into bookcases and slid underneath the dresser.

Sometimes I feel ever so slightly out-of-place with this house full of boys. I don’t understand the mystique of a tractor YouTube video, or the sheer joy in throwing dirt in the air just because. I’m still perfecting the noise a dump truck makes and how it might be different then a bulldozer and although I’ve come a long way in my fort building skills…I’ve got nothing on Dad.

I love when I get to love on my boys in a way that reaches straight to their heart, those sweet little testosterone-filled hearts. So, after naps I will resume my place on the floor, perfecting my best ‘vroom vroom,’ and we will crash our cars and pretend to scoop and dump.

2 Responses to “Matchbox Cars”


  1. 1 Libby September 28, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    I loved this. I love that we get to figure out this *whole world of boys* together.

  2. 2 TJ September 28, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    I love the world of boys! Hot Wheels are the best thing ever at my house. All 3 boys will vroom them and crash them, and play happily for a long time! Now my daughter on the other hand…


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


