Not a Morning Person

I am most definitely not a morning person. In fact, I almost always wait until I can hear the coffee pot ding before finally slithering out of bed. Although, that can be ten after 6am lots of mornings due to the ridiculous internal clock of my firstborn. But still, not a morning person.

But today, the sun is rising the most brilliant orange against a pink splattered sky over the frost-covered roof of my neighbor’s house, and I am grateful to see the sun rise.

***

The boys are wrestling and playing in front of Sesame Street and Aaron is just headed out the door, kissing the tousled hair of each boy. This is a sweet life.

***

We have been sweetly busy, hitting the pumpkin patch for a school field trip, hosting out-of-town family and friends, and making big pots of streaming soup. This one is a favorite right now. The boys are obsessed with tonka trucks and legos. It is thankfully still warm enough to spend big chunks of the day outside.

***

My kitchen counter is once again filled with paint samples as I am scheming to do a bit of updating to our master bedroom and the boy’s bathroom. I’m hoping to spruce up our long-neglected basement/guest space this winter as well. It’s long overdue. It’s funny, I have no problem splurging on a gallon of paint but when it comes to the ‘final touches’ like duvet covers and art and well, just about everything else, I either can’t bring myself to spend the money or I’m frozen by all the choices. I think after this final round of painting, I need to put down the paintbrush and focus on the actual decorating component of putting a home together.

***

The boys have moved from roudy to destructive. More soon…

 

2 Responses to “Not a Morning Person”


  1. 1 Bre October 27, 2011 at 7:55 am

    Sounds like a fabulous morning.

  2. 2 Courtney October 28, 2011 at 5:45 am

    Thank you for the soup recipe; I want to make it tonight seeing as how it’s frigid and the first snow arrived last night…have a great weekend!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


