The World Needs More Cake

For years my mother has been on a quest for the perfect white cake. One that tastes just like her grandmother’s with a soft crumbly interior and decadent, light as a cloud 7 minute frosting.

I’ve made a few for her over the last couple of years, but none that have even come close. They were either too dense, too dry or the frosting was all wrong. (not that they weren’t still tasty…they just didn’t mimic her grandma’s).

But this year, I got pretty darn close.

Martha Stewart saved the day. I used this recipe for the cake. I even rimmed the cake with raspberries just like she did. For the frosting, I used a tried and true buttercream frosting. Extremely basic…just butter, sugar and a little vanilla extract. I’m always so tempted to go with a cream cheese frosting or something heavier but the buttercream was heavenly and just the right choice for this cake. I used this recipe (minus the chocolate chips).

Made anything yummy lately?

1 Response to “The World Needs More Cake”


  1. 1 Courtney April 19, 2012 at 11:49 am

    That looks divine and the buttercream frosting I make sounds simple like yours–I get it from Magnolia’s Bakery in NYC–I have their cookbook. It makes anything store bought taste dreadful and is so easy. Love the raspberries. I’m going to have to try that as a final touch. Hope all is well!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


