Pregnancy

This picture is a full two weeks old, but it’s the only one I’ve managed to snap so far this pregnancy. I’m rounding the corner on 24 weeks and staring down the barrel of a long hot summer, feeling equal parts horror and elation that I have a solid three and a half months left before this little lady joins our family.

I still find it hard to believe we are having a girl. Even when I went to the Gap last week and bought a couple leggings and sleepers on the clearance rack. They are pink and have ruffles. It felt…foreign. I was finally settling into my role as ‘mom of boys.’ Now my title is changing slightly. It’s a good thing, just a little surreal.

I keep telling myself to enjoy this. And there are parts of it that are awesome. But, I also really feel like complaining. All the time (heartburn, leg aches, general fatigue, insomnia, blah blah blah). Three pregnancies in four years has proven to be a little hard on the old body (ok…at least it seems like that to me).

We have a couple of books by Dr. Sears on preparing for and bringing home a new baby. They are hilarious and awesome all at the same time. (Who’s read the infamous TIME magazine article????) Luke and I read the books this afternoon and all he cared about was the family’s dog. I attempted to read them with Jack a few days ago but he quickly replaced ‘Bringing Home Baby’ with ‘Dino’s Love Underpants.’

I keep getting asked if we have a name. You would think after two boys, we would have a long list of girl’s names…but alas we have nothing. I’m taking recommendations. No seriously, please, give me some options.

2 Responses to “Pregnancy”


  1. 1 Courtney May 24, 2012 at 5:09 am

    Wow–you look so cute with your bump! I’m so excited you guys are having a girl! I hear you on buying girl stuff–it’s so foreign–so when I’m buying a gift for a friend who has a girl–I don’t even know where to begin!

  2. 2 Catherine Barber May 30, 2012 at 9:06 am

    I’ve always liked Caroline for a girl. It’s classic but not over-used. I also considered Elise and Eloise. The Baby Name Wizard comes up with Hannah, Elizabeth, Julia, Lily, Olivia, and Sarah as potential siblings for Luke; Jane, Kate, Rachel, and Zoe are possibilities when you type in Jack. Sarah goes nicely with your boys’ names; it’s such a pretty name but nobody uses it anymore. Have fun searching!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


