Good Friends and Warm Bread

The boys and I almost never go anywhere between nap time and dinner time. Everyone around my house tends to wake slowly from naps and by the time the crankies are fully gone, it’s usually time to do dinner prep, leaving little opportunity for an errand.

But yesterday the boys woke up happy and I was itching for a late afternoon adventure, so we took off for ice cream cones and a trip to the local flower shop/nursery.

Luke thought he won the lottery:

When we got home from our little errand, I realized it was actually ME that had ‘won the lottery.’ Sitting on my back patio was a large mystery package (wrapped beautifully by a certain almost 3-year-old). And inside was a bread machine, gifted to me as an early birthday present from a group of dear girlfriends. To say I was shocked was an understatement.

The boys helped me rip open the box and I spent the evening reading the manual and adding recipes to my Pinterest page. This is something I’ve talked about purchasing forever and even though I’ve fully taken advantage of one sweet friend’s generosity and borrowed her machine a few times (to make these to die for cinnamon rolls), I just never took the plunge and bought my own (even though I’ve talked incessantly about it off an on for months).

Maybe it’s dorky to be so over-excited about a kitchen appliance, but really, I’m just blown away by the kindness and generosity of my friends. It’s so easy at this stage of motherhood/life to get lost in the chaos of my own daily life. Kids, work, husband, pregnancy, house, routines, ect. It was a surprise and a tender reminder to endeavor to be that kind of friend in return.

My first attempt didn’t quite turn out perfect, I’ve got some experimenting to do, but it tastes delicious.

cinnamon raisin bread…to be made into french toast in the morning

 

 

1 Response to “Good Friends and Warm Bread”


  1. 1 Megan June 14, 2012 at 10:37 am

    What a blessing to have such wonderful friends.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


