An Easy Smoothie

I love smoothies. Most of the time it’s a way for me to use up slightly ove-ripe fruit and sneak a bunch of spinach and probiotics into my kids. They are more in the healthy camp than the tasty camp (not that they don’t taste good…they do….they are just very healthy).

A couple of weeks ago I was craving an Orange Julius, which is kind of weird because that’s not usually the kind of treat I would choose, much less who knows when the last time I actually had an Orange Julius was.

There was no way I was taking my two kids to the mall for a pregnancy craving, so a quick google search and a few little adaptations and I had a pretty good knock-off right at home.

I would say this smoothie falls much more in the tasty camp versus the healhy camp.

Knock-Off Orange Julius:

  • 2 over-ripe bananas
  • 1/2 container frozen orange juice concentrate
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tbsp. sugar
  • 2-3 cups ice

Dump all your ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. The second time I made these, I omitted the sugar and vanilla and just used a scoop of vanilla yogurt. It was just as good.

Any tried and true smoothie recipes out there? Maybe one that falls right down the middle between flax meal/spinach/greek yogurt and chocolate syrup and ice cream?

0 Responses to “An Easy Smoothie”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


