A July Wrap Up

July has been so fun. It seems a little impossible it’s already the last week of the month.

I’m not even sure where to start…

The boys are spending a lot of time with very little clothing on now that it’s finally hot. Between running through sprinklers, playing in the wading pool and hitting up the random lake or swimming pool; the boys are loving summer as much as their summer-loving mama. And as much as I try to keep the sunscreen on them, they’ve both browned up with sweet little farmers tans and freckles galore. I almost feel bad about ruining their perfect skin, but those freckles are just so kissable that I can’t quite bring myself to up the SPF.

We spent the fourth of July with good friends at a nearby lake. Good friends with a boat. All of my boys (myself included) were in heaven. There is just no better feeling than a cool wind and a hot sun, cruising along a crystal blue lake. We stopped at one point at the cutest little shop for a quick ice cream treat, and we had to snap a picture of ‘the girls.’

We had a very low-key birthday party to celebrate Luke turning two (so low-key that this was the best shot out of a few quick and blurry shots). That little monkey is cracking us up on a daily basis while also trying every last nerve we have. He is equal parts charming and willful.

The very next day I turned 30, and also happened to be 30 weeks pregnant.

My family and friends absolutely spoiled me to no end. I had a facial, a little shopping, a wonderful dinner date with my husband and a sweet family party out at my parents house. My mother even dropped off strawberry shortcake on her way to work the morning of my birthday. To say it was a wonderful birthday would be an understatement. I keep waiting for that ‘whoa’ moment of ‘holy crap I’m really truly in my 30’s now’ but it hasn’t really come yet. College and even high school still don’t seem that far away and most days I still kind of feel like I’m waiting for the real mom/wife/professional to show up and take over.

From birthday celebrations we went straight into vacation mode (I mean honestly, could this month get any better?). We headed out for a few days in Sun Valley, Idaho with our dear friends where we rode bikes, walked everywhere, ate great food and chased our five wild boys. It was restful and exhausting in the best possible way and its a pretty awesome feeling to have friendships that feel more like family.

The random days in between all our adventures have been filled with trying to catch up on gardening/yard work, a little extra freelance work here and there and lots of bike rides and popsicle. I’m in summer food mode and have already made a couple batches of strawberry and raspberry jam and pesto. We’ve been eating green beans straight from the garden and our first cherry tomatoes are turning red.

Have I mentioned I love July?

2 Responses to “A July Wrap Up”


  1. 1 Courtney July 24, 2012 at 5:01 am

    You look gorgeous! Happy birthday! Happy summer!

  2. 2 Michelle September 6, 2012 at 7:09 am

    I’m pretty sure I recognize Kelly’s on Lake Chelan! Yum! Ice cream!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


