Keeping It Real

Today Scarlet is four weeks old. She is getting delightfully round and more and more alert. She also has a wicked case of baby acne and can fart louder than both her brothers. She’s adorable.

(yep, I dressed her.Why do you ask?)

Every morning as I sit in the dark nursing the baby, (who am I kidding, for most people it’s still practically the middle of the night) I start chanting my mantra…‘delight in them, be intentional, chill out.

And ten minutes later, I’m usually raising my voice, pleading with the boys to leave their sister alone, or to give me a little (tiny) bit of breathing room while I nurse, or to stop wrestling/hitting/screaming/pilfering gum from my purse (at 5:57am).

You know, the usual.

I wanted to write a post full of humblebrag about how well we are all doing and how Scarlet has changed our lives and what good boys the older two are.

And in so many ways, that really is true. But it wouldn’t be real life if I didn’t at least try to laugh at all the ridiculous shenanigans going on in the midst of this new normal we call our life.

There have been many time-outs, many many ‘yelling-mommy’ moments, and thank God for friends who bring meals or there would be no dinner. The baby has projectile spit up all over me and yesterday I realized I went to the grocery store with dried nasty spit-up in my hair. Toys litter every surface of my house. Right this very second there is blood, poop and spit-up on my white duvet cover all having been deposited by different people in the last 8 hours (bloody nose, overflowing diaper, infant). In the last few days I’ve lost my keys, Aaron’s keys, Scarlet’s insurance card, my pay check, and one running shoe. All thankfully have been found, but it’s getting a little ridiculous just how scattered I am.

So that’s real life. It really is a very sweet and special time for our family. And I mean that wholeheartedly. But it’s also a hard time. Really hard. But it helps to write out a little piece of it and chuckle and remind myself not to take everything so seriously.

2 Responses to “Keeping It Real”


  1. 1 striving October 22, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    Sending you a hug and hoping I do half as well as you when we have Baby Snider #2! You’re amazing and I think I’ll write down your mantra and put it on the fridge! xoxo

  2. 2 Courtney October 23, 2012 at 7:08 am

    Love your mantra! Sounds like there’s never a dull moment there. 🙂 Hope you are getting a break every now and again, too.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


