Happy Birthday Jack

How has it been four years already???

To my bike-loving, silly, wild, biggest brother, loving, a little-bit shy, awesome boy;

Someday you might look back on this blog and roll your eyes (and I won’t blame you) but at least there will be a few moments from your childhood documented. And what I hope seeps through these silly words and snapshots is the deep deep love and joy your dad and I have for you.

You are loved and adored far beyond what words can ever capture.

Right this very moment you are camped out on the floor playing with legos next to the swing where your baby sister sleeps. Two minutes ago you were in a wrestling match with your brother over a bouncy ball, but in a moment of tenderness, relinquished the ball without any prompting from me.

And that is your essence: equal parts gentle, tender and sensitive yet wild, physical, focused and determined. The last several weeks have brought so much change to your little life, and while we’ve all had a few rough moments, you have taken those changes in stride, aweing us with your ability to transition and welcome a new sibling into your life.

You are amazing Jackson Eugene. We love watching you grow. But I won’t lie, it’s hard too. It’s hard to let go of that control I had when you were a little baby and needed me for everything. It’s hard to watch your independence grow, not because I’m not proud of who you are or don’t want you to be independent, it’s just a hard truth that every day you need me a tiny bit less (or maybe just in a different way), and I think we are all trying to figure out what that means and how it works.

But know this, I am so honored to be your mother. I thank God every single day for bringing you to our family…for making us a family.

I love you.

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday Jack”


  1. 1 Colleen November 1, 2012 at 8:42 am

    You say everything so well Andrea. Thank you.

  2. 2 Rachel ~ fine for now November 6, 2012 at 6:28 am

    Wow! 4 years! Looks like he had a great birthday 🙂

    My 6.5 year old nephew just started riding a bike, and just look at Jack! Woah! He’s so advanced 🙂


Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


