Life Is Messy

But this song helps.

As my college roommates used to tease me (and my husband wholeheartedly agrees) I can be a bit of a brooder. Maybe a little glass-half-empty sometimes.

The daily grind of raising children can be so tough. The monotonousness of it all. The never-ending cycle of laundry, snacks, meals, crying, diaper changes…the list goes on an on.

And that doesn’t even touch the agony and worry over whether you are raising children who are kind, who love Jesus, who won’t turn out to be total degenerates.

Sometimes I look around at the swirl of chaos and the 12 timeouts that have taken place before noon or the scratches on the boys faces from getting into it with each other meanwhile the baby cries for who knows why and I just think…I am failing at all of this.

Nothing is more humbling than trying to raise children.

But…and it’s a big one.

This song reminds me that it’s not about ME. It’s just not about me at all.

Just when I think I’ve hit bottom, Luke brings me a stuffed dog wrapped up in a blankie and tells me his baby went to sleep. Jack begs me to hold Scarlet. The boys sit side by side and color together.

I offer my humble thanks. Thank you for making beautiful things out of the dust.

0 Responses to “Life Is Messy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers