My Big Purple Pot

I got a new purple pot for Christmas…and I LOVE it.

062

It’s so cheerful sitting on my stove. And because the weather has been gray and so cold and just downright depressing, I decided I would make a big pot full of color in my purple pot.

035

And as the lovely smells of summer filled my kitchen, my mood lifted just enough to think I might make it through the winter…maybe.

Sun-dried Tomato and Pesto Pasta Salad

  • 1 pound of penne pasta
  • big handful of fresh spinach
  • 2/3 cup sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1/3 cup toasted pine nuts
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup prepared pesto
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Boil pasta until al dente. While pasta drains, add the spinach to the hot pot. Pour pasta over the spinach to help it wilt. Stir in pesto, sun-dried tomatoes, pine nuts and parmesan cheese. Salt and pepper to taste. (Maybe add one more little handful of cheese if you have it).

This dish is tasty hot or cold. It reminds me of summer. It makes me happy.

It’s the little things on these long dreary winter days.

3 Responses to “My Big Purple Pot”


  1. 1 Courtney January 24, 2013 at 8:24 am

    I love that color pot and I love anything with pasta!!

  2. 2 Michelle January 24, 2013 at 8:41 am

    Looks delicious and now I’m making this tonight! Have all the ingredients – even homemade pesto and sun dried tomatoes!


  1. 1 Baking Bread | A New Day Rises Trackback on February 26, 2013 at 7:32 am

Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


