Easy Blueberry Sauce

Please excuse the bad iPhone photo of my breakfast.

007

I made a Trader Joe’s vanilla cake mix for dessert on Sunday. I didn’t have all the ingredients to make a frosting and for whatever reason, I wasn’t really in the mood for chocolate (shocking I know).

I decided to make a blueberry sauce to go over the cake. It was an experiment because I was too lazy to try to find a recipe, but it worked out wonderfully.  I made way too much so we’ve been eating it all week with yogurt and granola, over frozen waffles and a spoonful at a time snuck from the fridge.

Blueberry Sauce

(this is a rough calculation because I didn’t measure a thing when I put it together)

  • 5 to 6 cups frozen blueberries
  • 3/4 cup to 1 cup sugar (just keep tasting your mixture to get to the level of sweetness you like)
  • juice of half a lemon
  • dash of salt
  • 1 tablespoon corn starch

In a saucepan, mix all of the ingredients together over medium heat for about 30 minutes. The sauce should simmer at a slow boil, so depending on your stove, you might need to adjust the heat. When the sauce has thickened up and it tastes good…it’s done! Let cool and store in the refrigerator.

I think this recipe could be easily adjusted with other berries and I might try agave syrup next time for a slightly healthier version.

0 Responses to “Easy Blueberry Sauce”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers


