Turns Out I really Like Brussel Sprouts

I’ve seen several delicious looking brussel sprout recipes this fall but passed them up because I didn’t think I liked them.

Silly me! I do like them! Come to find out…I love brussel sprouts.

At my sister-in-law’s rehearsal dinner a couple of weeks ago, they served a wonderful roasted mixed vegetable dish. After about three helpings, I realized I was main lining brussel sprouts. I’ve been hooked ever since.

Which leads me to this post. Below is a super simple recipe that you can incorporate brussel sprouts into. Or not. Whatever side of the fence you fall on, the brussel sprouts are not a deal breaker.

165

Pulled and adapted from Pinterest: Chicken Sausage and Roasted Veggies

4 or 5 sausages (I use chicken sausage, but really, use whatever you like or have on hand)
1 pound potatoes
1/2 pound carrots
1/2 bell pepper
1 large onion
1 fennel bulb
handful of brussel sprouts (yes!)
small zucchini
2 garlic cloves
2 tbsp oil
freshly cracked black pepper
1 1/2 tsp Italian herbs
1/2 cup chicken broth
4 tbsp balsamic vinegar

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees. Dice up all the veggies into similar size pieces. Brown the sausages over medium heat. They don’t need to be cooked all the way through, but seared is ideal. Place diced veggies and sausages into 9×13 casserole dish. Salt and pepper liberally. Combine italian herbs, chicken broth and oil then pour over veggie mixture. Bake covered for about 15 minutes. After the allotted 15(ish) minutes, add the balsamic vinegar and give everything a stir. Cover back up and cook for another 20 to 30 minutes. I typically uncover the dish for the last ten minutes to brown everything up. Also, I leave out the fennel because I don’t like it.

This dish is great because you can use any combination of veggies you have on hand. I was thinking a sweet potato or butternut squash would be good too. They would add a little sweet to the savory.

My little boys actually eat this for the most part, of course being picky over which vegetables they eat, but usually the carrots and potatoes are safe along with the sausage.

1 Response to “Turns Out I really Like Brussel Sprouts”


  1. 1 Tysa January 7, 2013 at 11:51 am

    I ❤ Brussel Sprouts. My BFF in Jr. High introduced me to them, and recently, I introduced my daughter. They are my favorite green veggie!


Leave a comment




January 2013
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other subscribers